Jump to content


Photo

New tool (3.1): VoiceRunner

Pattern editor phrase editor note sorting

  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#26 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 12 November 2016 - 21:33

I just found a very obvious bug: 

Pressing a key while the dialog is open causes an error. So just use the mouse for now... 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#27 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Posted 28 March 2018 - 18:18

HI Bjorn

 

I get this error when using the context menu shortcuts:

 

voicerunner error.png

 

cheers

 

edit: on selecting the Adjust Settings item which opens the dialog, then closing it, the context menu items seem to function without error. Could it be that instantiating the dialog kicks it into memory or finishes the connection?


Edited by boonier, 28 March 2018 - 18:22.


#28 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 28 March 2018 - 18:32

Thanks. Will check :)


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#29 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 04 July 2018 - 13:24


I get this error when using the context menu shortcuts:


Wow, I totally forgot about this bug - it's still there. Will release a fix ASAP. 

 


  • kytdkut likes this

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#30 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2876 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 05 July 2018 - 16:02

Still I have encountered another bug when the dialog presents you with inablity to reate more then 12 tracks .

I have only  used 12 notes , this doesn' always happen 

ANother bug , see above but then 2 collumns are created for the same note ..could be related  to first bug .


THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#31 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 05 July 2018 - 16:51

Still I have encountered another bug when the dialog presents you with inablity to reate more then 12 tracks .

 

Yes, that would be this one, right? 

https://github.com/r...xrnx/issues/144

 

> then 2 collumns are created for the same note

 

OK, I need more help here. 

Would be great if you could provide a snippet of pattern data. Just copy paste, and put in [spoiler] tags.

 

Then I can add this to my VoiceRunner test song as well (yep, I've created such a thing...)


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#32 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2876 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 05 July 2018 - 22:56

Spoiler



If it sounds a bit random , that's because it's a rhytm ;)
 
There are only 8 different notes used , but some are a octave higher ( drumset ride ) .
Maybe that's the reason why voicerunner thinks there are more then 12 notes

Edited by danoise, 07 July 2018 - 13:15.

THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#33 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2876 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 05 July 2018 - 23:05

even happens with only 2 notes 

Spoiler

Can't find the spoiler allert button .. :(

THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#34 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2876 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 05 July 2018 - 23:16

Aha ..think I found what the problem is .

ONe track was already processed by voice runner (9 note columns ) , then when applying voice runner for the second track ( with only 2 notes  ) it refused to do so because 'WHOLE pattern'  was selected .

  

 

Seems like  a bug .

THe not  enough notes dialog appears after sorting 

6oPceDi.jpg


Edited by gentleclockdivider, 05 July 2018 - 23:17.

THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#35 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 07 July 2018 - 13:27

Thanks!
 
Yes, so it seems that it all comes down to the broken "too many notes" dialog. 
If this was working, processing should continue after you've picked which notes to keep. But it just stops there.

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#36 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 09 July 2018 - 17:53

VoiceRunner v1.03 can be fetched from the tools page:

https://www.renoise....ols/voicerunner

 

Changelog:

- Fixed #144: "too many columns" dialog does not sort notes bug
- Fixed #143: error when instantiating tool via context menu bug

  • kytdkut likes this

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#37 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Posted 10 July 2018 - 13:13

Sweeeeet thanks @danoise



#38 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Posted 19 August 2018 - 10:34

Hey

I can’t seem to get the Create note offs or close open notes working.

To that end I did some digging around to find the methods for handling that but couldn’t seem to find them - my environment for Lua is not really setup properly with debugging, but lots of call stack tracing didn’t reveal anything (at least in my first attempts!).

Has this been implemented yet? If so, what do I need to do to make it work?

Cheers

#39 midi error

midi error

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1084 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Chemical Plant Zone

Posted 20 October 2018 - 18:09

I get an error running this tool Selecting a load of notes in a pattern and clicking "SORT NOTES - SELECTION IN PATTERN"

 

 

 

Users/*******/Library/Preferences/Renoise/V3.1.1/Scripts/Tools/com.renoise.VoiceRunner.xrnx/' failed to execute in one of its menu entry functions.
 
Please contact the author (danoise [bjorn.nesby@gmail.com]) for assistance...
 
./source/xLib/classes/xVoiceSorter.lua:445: attempt to compare number with nil
stack traceback:
  ./source/xLib/classes/xVoiceSorter.lua:445: in function 'do_mark_column'
  ./source/xLib/classes/xVoiceSorter.lua:505: in function 'find_note_column'
  ./source/xLib/classes/xVoiceSorter.lua:379: in function 'sort_by_note'
  ./source/xLib/classes/xVoiceSorter.lua:208: in function 'sort'
  ./source/VR.lua:422: in function <./source/VR.lua:373>
  (tail call): ?
  ./source/VR.lua:325: in function 'do_sort'
  main.lua:125: in function <main.lua:124>


#40 ffx

ffx

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3520 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 29 October 2018 - 23:41

Hi danoise,

 

first of all, midi import in Renoise still seems to be a bit messy. I am trying to import drum sequences from Avenger midi export. Some notes then have a "C1" in the panning column, no idea what it is for (fast notecut?), but this is not in the original sequence AFAIK (these are drums, so no noteoff/cut at all). Then I find note-offs in the import, too. Those note-offs also seem to be not related to the note. And the notes are totally mixed up.

 

Ok, now regarding your great tool, it seems like voicerunner detects a C-4 and a C-4 C1 (with an C1 in the panning column) as two different notes (if I am trying to split). I am doing something wrong here? Because this makes no sense at all, if I simply want to sort by note.


Edited by ffx, 30 October 2018 - 00:40.

Test system: macOS 10.13.4, HFS+. Firewire Audio, i7 4770, 8GB Ram, GTX1050 2GB, 48kHz
GUI Automation RecorderNative DSP Context MenuTuned ShortcutsUnified Value Shift And Transpose | Jump To From Send Modified (Docs) | Quick Template | Nisanmol's Groove Tool FixedThemes


#41 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 29 October 2018 - 23:54

The tool offers to split voice runs when the note is cut - try to expand the options and look under "voice collection" ?

 

Now, I honestly can't remember if specifically the Cx command is detected, but it seems like the case here.

 

screenshot.png


I can’t seem to get the Create note offs or close open notes working.

 

@boonier: Woops, overlooked this message. Did you get it to work? 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#42 ffx

ffx

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3520 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 30 October 2018 - 01:22

Yes, I did that danoise.  C-4 00 and C-4 C1 will be treated as two different notes. Isn't that a buggy behaviour?


Test system: macOS 10.13.4, HFS+. Firewire Audio, i7 4770, 8GB Ram, GTX1050 2GB, 48kHz
GUI Automation RecorderNative DSP Context MenuTuned ShortcutsUnified Value Shift And Transpose | Jump To From Send Modified (Docs) | Quick Template | Nisanmol's Groove Tool FixedThemes


#43 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Posted 30 October 2018 - 11:45

 

 

@boonier: Woops, overlooked this message. Did you get it to work? 

 

@danoise I don't believe I did!



#44 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 30 October 2018 - 15:54

@ffx: I'll take a close look. Thanks.

 

@boonier: hmm, OK if you encounter this again it would be great if you could immediately save a copy of the song + the tool preferences. 

I have quite an extensive test suite for this song, but with so many possibilities for pattern data and tool configuration, it's not possible to test every combination. 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#45 ffx

ffx

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3520 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 30 October 2018 - 15:59

Thank you!


Test system: macOS 10.13.4, HFS+. Firewire Audio, i7 4770, 8GB Ram, GTX1050 2GB, 48kHz
GUI Automation RecorderNative DSP Context MenuTuned ShortcutsUnified Value Shift And Transpose | Jump To From Send Modified (Docs) | Quick Template | Nisanmol's Groove Tool FixedThemes


#46 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Posted 31 October 2018 - 11:34

 

@boonier: hmm, OK if you encounter this again it would be great if you could immediately save a copy of the song + the tool preferences. 

I have quite an extensive test suite for this song, but with so many possibilities for pattern data and tool configuration, it's not possible to test every combination. 

 

Hmm maybe my understanding of what it's supposed to do  - does it create note offs for every single note, or just the last notes left open in the pattern? I think at the time I was hoping that I could select some notes and the tool would add note offs before the next new note.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Pattern editor, phrase editor, note sorting