Jump to content


Photo

Windows: x-fer serum VST > renoise GUI/Keyboard lags?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2497 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 09 January 2017 - 15:09

I tried this synth about 1 ago , on a underspecified machine ...aware it was a bit of a cpu munger , the gui of renoise also lagged ...

 

Now ..I am trying it again on fairly modern i5 ,good enough nvidia graphics , win 8 , renoise 64 ...plenty of ram ....iow fast enough to run some modern plugs 

As soon as the gui is opened and played from the computer kbd , the lagging begins ...it's so bad ...the note input data ( from the keyboard ) is not seamless ( dropping notes ) etc .

This   happens when renoise isn't even playing , just banging on the kbd is enough to make it lag 

 

This DOES NOT happen with reaper , ( also able to use the computer kbd ) It runs smooth as butter 

.This is a renoise specific issue , somehow the bussy graphics animation on x-fer serum ...makes renoise lag ...


Edited by gentleclockdivider, 09 January 2017 - 15:18.

THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#2 toimp

toimp

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Music, music, music ...

Posted 09 January 2017 - 17:18

Serum works perfectly for me, no problems here. Using renoise 3.1 x64 with serum x64 v 1.108 on windows 10 64x, i7 3770 cpu, an amd vga card and ur44 audio interface (directsound and asio works without problems).


Edited by toimp, 09 January 2017 - 17:20.


#3 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2497 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 09 January 2017 - 18:44

also when banging on the computah Keyboard ? no visual lag in renoise ?

Funny , maybe it's because it's the demo version of serum 


THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#4 toimp

toimp

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Music, music, music ...

Posted 09 January 2017 - 19:15

What version number does the serum demo have?



#5 ffx

ffx

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2899 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:Renoise sidechaining, macOS fanboying

Posted 09 January 2017 - 19:46

Maybe something related to OpenGL and the graphics driver. EDIT: I just wrote this suggestion, because nobody will fix your problem in the next years. So try to fix by yourself.


Edited by ffx_away, 09 January 2017 - 20:05.

MacOS 10.12.6 Retina, Renoise 3.1 64 bit   -   Tuned Shortcuts | Multi-Jump From/To Send | Quick Template | Insert Native DSP Menu (incl. deprecated)


#6 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2497 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 09 January 2017 - 21:51

I just found out that this horrible lagging is ONLY happening when the moog filter is selected ., and only in renoise ...heh 

Verry strange , cause these don't  consume more cpu .

Nice synth , but I 'll remove it anyway...nothing that can't be done with zebra/reaktor.


Edited by gentleclockdivider, 09 January 2017 - 21:52.

THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#7 ffx

ffx

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2899 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:Renoise sidechaining, macOS fanboying

Posted 09 January 2017 - 21:55

Does it disappear if you add a lofi device with constant noise directly after the synth?


MacOS 10.12.6 Retina, Renoise 3.1 64 bit   -   Tuned Shortcuts | Multi-Jump From/To Send | Quick Template | Insert Native DSP Menu (incl. deprecated)


#8 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2497 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 09 January 2017 - 22:33

?

 

It just happens with the moog filter and some resonance , without reso and any other filter it's smooth .

Moog +reso = can't even play a simple triad on the comp.keyboard ,so slow and laggy .

Ah ...the german filter seems to cause problems too .

Verry strange issue 


Edited by gentleclockdivider, 09 January 2017 - 22:50.

THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#9 magickz

magickz

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 January 2017 - 10:13

hm. I never tried Serum. But, on their Serum website they write:

"System Requirements:

  • CPU with SSE2
  • Windows 7 SP1, or Mac OS X 10.6 or greater
  • VST2.4 , AU or AAX compatible host software." (quoted from xfer website)

 

Recently I had some strange problems with some Sonivox-Plugins, until I realized that their requirements specification

"Windows System Requirements: Windows 8, Windows 7 Service Pack 1 Home Premium, Professional, or Ultimate" (quoted from Sonivox website) does not include my Windows 10.

Solution was suggested by another Sonivox user. He told me to run the DAW in Windows 8 compatibility mode. ("To do this on Windows 10, just look at the Compatibility tab on the application shortcut for the DAW. Under Compatibility mode, check "Run this program in compatibility mode for", then in the dropdown box, select Windows 8. Apply."). It was the first time, that I heard about that possibility to run older apps in a compatibility mode. My Sonivox issue seems to be solved... This helpful Sonivox user told me, that Cakewalk plugins also have compatibility issues, but at least Cakewalk knew about this work-around.

 

Now I assume, that Serum's requirements are exactly Windows 7SP1, all other versions seem to be not officially supported. I am not sure if that possibility also exists in Windows 8 (to emulate a Windows7SP1 compatibility mode), but maybe worth a try.


Edited by magickz, 10 January 2017 - 11:23.


#10 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2497 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 10 January 2017 - 13:40

My comp is about 5 years old , good nough for most plugins 


THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#11 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5592 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 10 January 2017 - 13:57

Now I assume, that Serum's requirements are exactly Windows 7SP1, all other versions seem to be not officially supported.


I think you can safely assume that Win7 is simply the minimum system requirement, and that its implied that all newer versions of Windows are supported.

I've got the full version of Serum here on my Win10 machine and have no major issues with it. No insane lag like gentleclockdivider is describing, with or without the filter enabled, whether smashing the keyboard or not, with or without Renoise playing notes while doing so, etc.

I've also successfully used the demo version of Serum on my older Win8 machine in the past, and had no major issues there, either.

Tested both 32-bit and 64-bit versions of the plugin, in both Renoise 32-bit and 64-bit, both bridged and non-bridged, etc.

I dunno what could be happening, but at least I'm unable to personally recreate it on my systems so far.

#12 magickz

magickz

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 January 2017 - 15:56

I understand. :mellow:

 

Serum looks interesting, maybe I'll try it here, too...


Edited by magickz, 10 January 2017 - 15:57.


#13 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2497 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 11 January 2017 - 19:53

yes funny indeed , other then that it's working great ...

Just displaying the animation of the moog filter and german filter make  it behave this way ,.all other filter types and gui animations  cause no problems .

Anyway , I deinstalled it ..


THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA