Jump to content


Photo

Signal Follower conflict bug with same instruments in one VST

Renoiese Signal Follower Bug Conflict

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Darkman007

Darkman007

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Tuapse
  • Interests:Demoscene, musician, bike, gamedev, game music, sport

Posted 18 April 2017 - 09:21

Greetings! I had such a problem here. I use Signal Follower on the track with a drum kick. I track the signal and send it to the track with the bass. Usual such task, slightly to muffle a bass at the moment of impact by a drum kick. For example, to avoid bothering, I regulate GAIN. So that's it. When the drum kick plays solo, the signal is tracked correctly. And when you include, for example, the rest of the tools in the same VST (hats snare, etc.), then everything, the signal is not tracked correctly. And Signal Follower hangs exclusively on the track, where only a drum kick is used. Has anyone encountered such an infection and how to defeat it? (It is clear that you can sender a shock in the samples, but .. this is another question).

 

Sorry for maybe my bad english, i'm musician from Russia and in our "community" no one knows about renoise at all :)

 

Here the capturing video of my problem.

 



#2 ffx

ffx

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2896 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:Renoise sidechaining, macOS fanboying

Posted 18 April 2017 - 10:08

I assume this behavior is not related to the signal follower, but with the drum kit you use. Have a look there, is there a mute group activated or something going on in the fx section of the drum kit?
  • Darkman007 likes this

MacOS 10.12.6 Retina, Renoise 3.1 64 bit   -   Tuned Shortcuts | Multi-Jump From/To Send | Quick Template | Insert Native DSP Menu (incl. deprecated)


#3 Darkman007

Darkman007

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Tuapse
  • Interests:Demoscene, musician, bike, gamedev, game music, sport

Posted 18 April 2017 - 12:48

I assume this behavior is not related to the signal follower, but with the drum kit you use. Have a look there, is there a mute group activated or something going on in the fx section of the drum kit?

Tell me please or make some example.. wthat's meant "Mute Group" ? I use NI Kontakt with Steven Slate Drums.



#4 OopsIFly

OopsIFly

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 889 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:...daydreams... -VS- ...propaganda...

Posted 18 April 2017 - 13:32

maybe to the end of the video, when the cymbals come in and it is not working anymore...the sound is routed to a different channel somehow? You know, renoise will (unless you config it right) output stuff from plugins to the "last channel where a note was triggered".

 

Is the Plugin multichannel, i.e. you can assign a different output channel to each drum hit, then you might want to look into plugin aliasing. Or if it is not multichannel, then renoise won't be able to split it into seperate channels at all! Then use a 2nd instance of the plugin only for the kick, so you can have its sound in a different channel.


  • Darkman007 likes this

#5 ffx

ffx

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2896 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:Renoise sidechaining, macOS fanboying

Posted 18 April 2017 - 14:15

I assume this behavior is not related to the signal follower, but with the drum kit you use. Have a look there, is there a mute group activated or something going on in the fx section of the drum kit?

 

 

Tell me please or make some example.. wthat's meant "Mute Group" ? I use NI Kontakt with Steven Slate Drums.

 

I thought you're using a genoise drum set on instrument #0, ok its kontakt :)

 

Then it's like OopsIFly wrote, the output of your kontakt instance currently is already mixed together in the plugin! If you now play it on different tracks at the same time, the most right track will be used as output. So you need to split the output to multiple ones and then route to the according tracks.


  • Darkman007 likes this

MacOS 10.12.6 Retina, Renoise 3.1 64 bit   -   Tuned Shortcuts | Multi-Jump From/To Send | Quick Template | Insert Native DSP Menu (incl. deprecated)


#6 Darkman007

Darkman007

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Tuapse
  • Interests:Demoscene, musician, bike, gamedev, game music, sport

Posted 18 April 2017 - 15:07

I understood :) Thanks to all. Same problem with trying to using, for example,  Wavesfactory - Trackspacer.



#7 OopsIFly

OopsIFly

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 889 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:...daydreams... -VS- ...propaganda...

Posted 18 April 2017 - 16:10

trackspacer is a different problem, it uses sidechaining. renoise doesn't suppert sidechaining other than via its own meta devices.

 

your problem is because of the mix together of the same instrument happening. if kontakt (I don't know it) is able to route each drum type to a different output, you might get your kick drum back to its own channel via the audio routing http://tutorials.ren...ment_Properties

 

sorry my bad to call it "aliases", the alias thing is actually for effect plugins you want to send midi notes to.

 

Even if you can't get the sounds seperated (you could also use 2 or more drum plugs) you can still sidechain to a kick by using the lp filter of the signal follower to make it react only to bass frequencies.


  • Darkman007 likes this

#8 Darkman007

Darkman007

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Tuapse
  • Interests:Demoscene, musician, bike, gamedev, game music, sport

Posted 18 April 2017 - 16:18

The essence is understood. It's easier to add a separate VST Plugin Kontakt and use my bass drum there.

Because in kontakt I did not find such a separation.

Edited by Darkman007, 18 April 2017 - 16:18.


#9 Darkman007

Darkman007

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Tuapse
  • Interests:Demoscene, musician, bike, gamedev, game music, sport

Posted 21 April 2017 - 13:19

I read this note - https://support.nati...-Host-Sequencer

 

Do it, but it's not the decision of problem yet .... Aaaaargghhh! :(



#10 ffx

ffx

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2896 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:Renoise sidechaining, macOS fanboying

Posted 21 April 2017 - 13:27

Darkman, enable multiple outputs in Kontakt (I think it was an extra vst like "Kontakt x16 out.vst" or similar. Also in its settings. Restart Kontakt / DAW / Song. Now route your bd, sn and hi to separate stereo outs each. In Renoise VSTi settings, route those available outputs to the corresponding tracks. 


Edited by ffx, 21 April 2017 - 13:27.

MacOS 10.12.6 Retina, Renoise 3.1 64 bit   -   Tuned Shortcuts | Multi-Jump From/To Send | Quick Template | Insert Native DSP Menu (incl. deprecated)


#11 Darkman007

Darkman007

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Tuapse
  • Interests:Demoscene, musician, bike, gamedev, game music, sport

Posted 21 April 2017 - 13:50

Allright! I do it! Thanks to idea :) Now it's work fine.

Attached Images

  • 321.jpg

Edited by Darkman007, 21 April 2017 - 13:50.


#12 Darkman007

Darkman007

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Tuapse
  • Interests:Demoscene, musician, bike, gamedev, game music, sport

Posted 21 April 2017 - 14:10

Ok. How i can do alternative work of Trackspacer?







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Renoiese, Signal, Follower, Bug, Conflict