Jump to content


Photo

Build a perfect Virtual Piano using buttons only

viewbuilder virtual piano perfect virtual piano virtual piano buttons

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#26 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1037 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 17 August 2017 - 15:41

Lately I've been busy with another tool. I leave here a screenshot that shows the appearance of a tool with two virtual pianos, one horizontal and one vertical.

VPDpro_v1.0.png

 

Both pianos have been constructed using the methodology of this topic. The vertical virtual piano could be used in any tool similar to a piano roll.


  • Conner_Bw and Fsus4 like this

:excl: Development of my tool: GT16-Colors

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#27 frenetic_friend

frenetic_friend

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

Posted 17 August 2017 - 18:20

It looks so complicated. You must have used a lot of selfmade bitmaps.

This tool is for users with midicontrollers, right?



#28 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1037 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 17 August 2017 - 18:34

It looks so complicated. You must have used a lot of selfmade bitmaps.

 

No, actually I've only used a couple of templates to create the images. As it is a repetitive process it is very simple. On the other hand, I have a hobby to create new icons. I like it.

 

This tool is for users with midicontrollers, right?

 

Yes. With a Midi controller keyboard you can compose with live recording, but not edit. This tool allows editing with the mouse and with the midi Input. In fact, you could compose a song without using an alphanumeric USB keyboard. Also, I added the ChordPad with the same capacity. You can add chords with the mouse or with any Midi pad. The tool is designed to be compact. You can select the columns you want to display.

 

It may seem a bit complex. But the compressed tool does not occupy more than 100KB.


:excl: Development of my tool: GT16-Colors

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#29 frenetic_friend

frenetic_friend

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

Posted 17 August 2017 - 18:52

 

The tool is designed to be compact

Did you try it on tablets?



#30 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1037 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 17 August 2017 - 19:06

Did you try it on tablets?

No. I'm working using Windows 10 and a normal monitor. But I guess on a touch screen could be controlled. That is, composing a song through the tool from the touch screen. It is designed to take advantage of the maximum height in a monitor of 1024 x 768, at least. For the touch screen it would be necessary to add a crosshead or joystick (up down right left). It could work...

 

The advantage of this tool is that it offers a large area to view and edit all the parameters that you can use within the pattern editor, except the parameters derived from the automation of the effects chains. Actually, the tool "shows a zoom" of one line of the selected note column. It allows better understanding of the parameters used and available...


  • Circe likes this

:excl: Development of my tool: GT16-Colors

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#31 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 971 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted Yesterday, 16:39

Yes, of course you can use function oriented programming for anything if you want to, but it's not a very good (flexible and future friendly) way of designing the code.

Why? I am asking as a clojure developer :)



#32 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1508 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:music, philosophy, engineering

Posted Yesterday, 17:50

It's more practical when making something that is more complex. This means that it will likely take less time to add new features in the future (it's not uncommon to realize that a lot of stuff must be restructured when adding some new feature to function oriented code). Also, it's a more true representation of the actual behavior of a software, I think. In addition, the classes can be more reusable as they are likely more simple to implement in other sotware.