Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (3.1) Device Sergeant (June 2017)


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 June 2017 - 21:29

Tools Site Page:

http://renoise.com/t...device-sergeant

 

Device Sergeant
 
Allows you to to have macro style control of all devices in the mixer of the same name.
 
Device Sergeant (2).png
 
Open the tool and navigate to the device you want to use as a master device.  You can rename all devices that already share the same name using the text field.  Alternatively name a few by hand to group them together for the tool. (devices must be of the same type)
 
 
In the picture I have added some Digital Filters (renamed to HP Filter).  Use the dropdown to choose the parameter that you want to control in all instances at the same time.  In the screenshot this means I can drag the slider and all the cutoffs for HP Filter will be modified together.

 

Prev and Next device buttons [<][>] navigate through all the selected device instances across tracks. (not seen in current screenshot)

 
The [Toggle] [All On] and [All Off] buttons control the bypass state all of the devices together for quick A/Bing
 
[Sync All Devices] sets all of the parameters of all devices exactly the same if they have become unaligned
 
[+ To Vacant Tracks] adds copies of the current selected device to all sequencer tracks that don`t have one
 
[Delete All] deletes all copies of the device from the mixer

 

[Rename Current Device Only] renames the selected device (different from the main textfield that allows you to rename all `selected` devices at once)
 
 
Tools Menu: Ledger`s Scripts:Device Sergeant
Mixer Menu: Device Sergeant

DSP Lane Menu: Device Sergeant
Shortcut: Device Sergeant
 

 Attached File  ledger.scripts.DeviceSergeant_V0.6.xrnx   5.72KB   5 downloads

 

 

v0.60
-Minor update to device count readout, shows what device you have selected in format: (current/total)

v0.59

-Added Prev and Next device buttons [<][>] to navigate through all the selected device instances

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
changelog:

Spoiler

Edited by Ledger, 30 October 2017 - 15:27.

  • danoise, ffx and Meef Chaloin like this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#2 Roppenzo

Roppenzo

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 452 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 07 June 2017 - 01:48

Thanks you so much! Very handy!
House Music All Night Long. - Say What?

#3 Meef Chaloin

Meef Chaloin

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 June 2017 - 02:38

Really useful, thanks!



#4 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 07 June 2017 - 11:18

Thanks for all your tools, Ledger!

 

A little problem:  select Chorus, Reset (value 0):
*** std::logic_error: 'ViewBuilder: invalid value for mini slider: '-1'. value must be [0 - 255].'
*** stack traceback:
***   [C]: ?
***   [C]: in function '__newindex'
***   [string "do..."]:22: in function <[string "do..."]:9>
***   main.lua:342: in function <main.lua:328>

If the selected device has a selector or buttons, seems to be missing something, for example: the Convolver, Impulse Mono/Stereo. Maybe the 0 and 1 values can be used?


:excl: Development of my tool: GT16-Colors

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#5 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 June 2017 - 14:28

Thanks all, for the feedback!
 
@Raul I think the bug you report is related to this API issue I ran into before. Thanks, I`ll take a look and sort out a workaround.
 
http://forum.renoise...rn-1-as-value/
 
(API reports :

......:device(X):parameter(X).value_min

of `0` for some  properties that can also return `-1` . This is different from the usual issue of Lua counting from `1` and renoise values counting from `0` )


Edited by Ledger, 07 June 2017 - 18:15.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#6 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 07 June 2017 - 14:58

Thanks all, for the feedback!

 

@Raul I think the bug you report is related to this API issue I ran into before. Thanks, I`ll take a look and sort out a workaround.

 

http://forum.renoise...rn-1-as-value/

 

(API reports min of `0` for some  properties that can also return `-1` . This is different from the usual issue of Lua counting from `1` and renoise values counting from `0` )

 
Thank you! I followed the link. It seems an issue not solved by Taktik yet, does it?
 
The other day I found another small problem that has to do with the ranges. It has no relation here, but it seems somewhat common to find small problems at the extremes of the ranges of values employed. I hope Taktik is not far away and review all this...

:excl: Development of my tool: GT16-Colors

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#7 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 June 2017 - 18:20

I suspect these issues will be cleared up with a new API version jump which comes with a new renoise 3.x

 

I guess taktik, danoise and all are tracking these issues but maybe a dedicated thread like the API wishlist is in order to keep track of confirmed stuff?


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#8 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 June 2017 - 22:05

New version just to fix bug Raul found:

 

http://forum.renoise...17/#entry358044


  • Raul (ulneiz) likes this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#9 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 10 June 2017 - 13:32

New version just to fix bug Raul found:

 

http://forum.renoise...17/#entry358044

 

Thanks! This tool is great for playing with devices!!!


  • Ledger likes this

:excl: Development of my tool: GT16-Colors

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#10 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6473 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 10 June 2017 - 15:49

I guess taktik, danoise and all are tracking these issues but maybe a dedicated thread like the API wishlist is in order to keep track of confirmed stuff?

 

Sure, yes we are. 

 

As for the "issue" - the ability to tell the difference between "current track" and something else is useful, I'd say? 

But, since you need to handle such special cases in your tools, It should also be mentioned somewhere in the API docs. 

 

This is different from the usual issue of Lua counting from `1` and renoise values counting from `0` )

 

Sometimes but not always. For example, observable values often use "0" as an indication that "nothing" is selected. 

There really isn't any other choice here as an observable need to have a value. 

 

The rule of counting from one is only really relevant for indexed tables, and even here you can still set zero and negative values as well. 

 

So there's nothing wrong with 0 or even -1, it's more a question of being consistent. 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#11 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 June 2017 - 19:33

Yes an update to the API docs would be good to warn of the `-1` values.  There`s no problem with their utility, it was just a bit of a curve ball at the time.

 

Looking back at the other thread it looked like the issue taktik talked about was for Dest. Track / Effect / Parameters, not being able to be assignable to current track via automation at all. I remembered this as an API issue but sounds like the confusion came downstream from that renoise quirk.

 

The only reason I mentioned the counting from one thing was in case Raul was interested, as I know he scripts aswell.  It was referring to renoise instrument `00` being instrument `1` in API; not so much an `issue` as something to be aware of.


  • danoise likes this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#12 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 June 2017 - 21:12

Running count of targeted devices added:

 

http://forum.renoise...17/#entry358044
 

v0.53

 

-Added a count of current devices next to "Selected Device/s" title. So if 4 devices are targeted then it reads "Selected Device/s = 4"

-small button colour bug fix

 


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#13 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 June 2017 - 14:48

http://forum.renoise...17/#entry358044

 

v0.54

- Using [+ To Vacant Tracks] button will now copy modified display name of device being copied


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#14 Meef Chaloin

Meef Chaloin

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 June 2017 - 11:02

Would there be any chance of adding an option to this to copy to all devices before sends?



#15 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 June 2017 - 15:16

Would there be any chance of adding an option to this to copy to all devices before sends?

 

Do you mean the "Sync All Devices" button?


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#16 Meef Chaloin

Meef Chaloin

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 June 2017 - 17:58

Do you mean the "Sync All Devices" button?

No, I don't think so. I mean that if on the destination track you have some send devices the new effect gets put after them but I think (at least for me) most times it would be better to have the new device before the send devices. 



#17 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 June 2017 - 19:03

No, I don't think so. I mean that if on the destination track you have some send devices the new effect gets put after them but I think (at least for me) most times it would be better to have the new device before the send devices. 

 

I see, makes sense.  I`ve added this to the latest version 0.55:

 

http://forum.renoise...7/#entry358044

 

 

 

 

Edit now updated to 0.56:

 

v0.56

-Added a button [Rename Current Device Only] that renames the selected device

v0.55

-When using [+ To Vacant Tracks] , the newly inserted devices will appear before any send devices in the track


Edited by Ledger, 25 June 2017 - 20:04.

  • Meef Chaloin likes this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#18 Meef Chaloin

Meef Chaloin

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 478 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 June 2017 - 21:40

Thanks a lot, that's a very welcome addition!


  • Ledger likes this


#19 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 October 2017 - 16:28

0.57, Added a menu entry when right clicking a device in the DSP lane

 

http://forum.renoise...17/#entry358044


Edited by Ledger, 05 October 2017 - 16:28.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#20 ffx

ffx

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2995 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:macOS fanboying

Posted 05 October 2017 - 16:31

Nice, thanks! Very helpful, maybe in combination with your dual compressor sidechaining thing?


MacOS 10.12.6 Retina, Renoise 3.1 64 bit   -   Tuned Shortcuts | Multi-Jump From/To Send | Quick Template | Insert Native DSP Menu (incl. deprecated)


#21 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 October 2017 - 16:51

In the side-chain tool they should sync automatically in the side-chain send tracks, when the gui is open anyway?  --might be a bug or limitation if not working properly

 

This tool can be used on any `named group of DSPs` of your choice.  So e.g. you can rename 3 filters (of the same type)  to "Filt 1"  and control the cutoff/ res parameters for all together, no matter what track they are on.

 

Macro renaming can be done via the gui of the tool aswell: All devices named `Filter` -> `Filt 1`

 

though you need to do it manually if you only want to rename a sub-set of devices, say half of the devices already named filter. 


Edited by Ledger, 05 October 2017 - 16:53.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#22 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 October 2017 - 17:02

0.58, minor: delete button now red


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#23 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 October 2017 - 14:18

Now up on tools site:

 

http://renoise.com/t...device-sergeant


  • Conner_Bw, ffx and joule like this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#24 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 October 2017 - 17:48

http://renoise.com/t...device-sergeant

 

v0.59

-Added Prev and Next device buttons [<][>] to navigate through all the selected device instances

 

Prev next dev sergeant.PNG


Edited by Ledger, 28 October 2017 - 20:12.

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#25 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3409 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 October 2017 - 11:19

http://renoise.com/t...device-sergeant

 

v0.60
-Minor update to device count readout, shows what device you have selected in format: (current/total)


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites