Jump to content


Photo

unusual error in terminal?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3406 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 June 2017 - 23:42

I have just got the following simple number error in the scripting terminal.  Does anyone know what it means?  The code I added before used a string.find() function but I`m not sure if that`s related.

 ***1

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#2 4Tey

4Tey

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 June 2017 - 08:02

I'll say Ledge that I haven't come across output like that myself.  I always thought that an error is formatted more like:

*** <Error string>:<Line number> etc...

(also notice the 'space' character just after the '***')

 

As for the 'string.find()' thing, I find it difficult to swallow that would ever return just '***1' even with obscure/complex patterns that don't match.  Nil or even some error string I would imagine would be returned on 'no match' (unless there is a subtle bug in the lua string library/pattern matcher code/Renoise that you have uncovered.)  You would have to consistently be able to reproduce it and post the steps to analyze further :)



#3 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1035 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 16 June 2017 - 11:24

I'll say Ledge that I haven't come across output like that myself.  I always thought that an error is formatted more like:

*** <Error string>:<Line number> etc...

(also notice the 'space' character just after the '***')

 

As for the 'string.find()' thing, I find it difficult to swallow that would ever return just '***1' even with obscure/complex patterns that don't match.  Nil or even some error string I would imagine would be returned on 'no match' (unless there is a subtle bug in the lua string library/pattern matcher code/Renoise that you have uncovered.)  You would have to consistently be able to reproduce it and post the steps to analyze further :)

 

I've had the same thing recently, manipulating the keyhandler with key.note and key.repeated. Obviously, the function that causes this error is misspelled, but the error is unknown. Does it possibly have anything to do with writing something in the pattern editor or referencing parts of it? Another mystery of Renoise!


:excl: Development of my tool: GT16-Colors

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#4 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3406 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 June 2017 - 12:58

The code was accessing an active dsp preset xml string, so it sounds independent of the data accessed in renoise then (and probably not to do with strig.find())?

 

I`ll try and get a simple reproducable example and paste it up here later..


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#5 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3406 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 June 2017 - 00:16

Found the problem.  I was assigning nil to a:

vb.views["button_id"].color

which results in the ***1 error


  • 4Tey likes this

--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#6 4Tey

4Tey

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 June 2017 - 09:05

Ah, another reason why I haven't come across this is because I don't think it happens in the Linux version of Renoise, you do actually get a lua error (if it is the right error though I'm not sure) rather than just:

*** 1

Also makes sense why Raul has seen it as he has his 'piano keyboard' buttons color code that maybe sometimes gets assigned 'nil' to :)


  • Ledger likes this

#7 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1035 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 17 June 2017 - 09:50

Ah, another reason why I haven't come across this is because I don't think it happens in the Linux version of Renoise, you do actually get a lua error (if it is the right error though I'm not sure) rather than just:

*** 1

Also makes sense why Raul has seen it as he has his 'piano keyboard' buttons color code that maybe sometimes gets assigned 'nil' to :)

 
it's possible!
 
I was manipulating a code to be able to return a color to a button (actually to a group of buttons), trying to emulate a "key.note released".
 
"key.note" acts as "key.note_pressed" but does not exist "key.note_released" (or similar). Then try to follow a Danoise advice using "key.repeated". I guess you need to add an os.clock or something to be able to cast a function at the end of the replay. I have not been able to build it. But testing with the code (test / error), I have encountered this error *** 1.
 
Finally I used a seedy timer to return the color to the buttons, which emulate piano keys.
 
...
 
Has anyone played with "key.repeated"?  How to return a function after the repetition? Using rprint(key), record infinite times: [repeated] =>  true. So:
Spoiler
 
Then run a function at the end of the last [repeated] => true. This matter I have discussed here without finding a simple solution. 4Tey, any idea to do this?
 
I do not know if it's related. I think the error ***1 has to do with calling something that does not exist, possibly with the property of color.

:excl: Development of my tool: GT16-Colors

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#8 Raul (ulneiz)

Raul (ulneiz)

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1035 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Posted 17 June 2017 - 10:59

Maybe the error ***1  indicates that you are trying to apply a property to an element that does not exist, such as changing the color to a button that does not exist.

 

Instead of *** 1, could say: "error: object does not exist to change the color", or something like that...

 

I suppose that this error can appear in many circumstances, not only with the color.


Edited by Raul (ulneiz), 17 June 2017 - 11:01.

:excl: Development of my tool: GT16-Colors

 

:excl: My API wishlist R3.1 (updated 24 July 2017):

Spoiler

 

:excl: My Renoise 3.1 wishlist (updated 26 September 2017):

Spoiler

#9 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3406 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 June 2017 - 12:10

I think it is just something that isn`t caught properly. The button I was assigning nil to definitely still existed in the gui.

 

Could well be present for other properties (or maybe something to do with the color assignment being a table rather than a single value?)  One for taktik/ danoise to answer..


--> Lua For Beginners <--
--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites