Complete beginner wants to cut notation editor out of most of workflow

Hi, I am a complete beginner to the world of DAWs. I have used LMMS a bit, but mainly stick to my go to notation editor - MuseScore. I find in my workflow that I sometimes work better entering notes for the individual instruments, but when I am stuck, working from a pattern in a DAW helps me to search for the right notes, tone, atmosphere that I need for a song. Importing and exporting between a notation editor and a DAW is a bit of a pain, so I am hoping to be able to cut out the notation editor for most of my workflow. I have been looking at a number of video tutorials and postings in the forum , but I still am not sure if Renoise can do what I want. Here is what I need to know - how do I do the following?

1. Enter notes of varying length on a per track basis by using key command shortcuts? In MuseScore, I can press “4” for a quarter note, press “c” for a C note and then press ctrl arrow (up-down) to switch octave. Is anything like this possible either out of the box or to set up in Renoise?
  2. Both MuseScore and LMMS can use soundfonts, so I would need a simple, good quality and cheap alternative to soundfonts for Renoise. Orchestral and classic rock instruments.
  3. There will be times when I will need to import and export from Renoise - either as tracks or full songs. There appears to be some .mid support in Renoise, but I am unsure if the XML that Renoise uses is what MuseScore and other programs refer to as MusicXML (either compressed or uncompressed).
  4. Can the value (tone and length) of individual notes be changed in a way similar to a piano roll view?

Renoise looks really great, I hope it is possible to get it to work the way I need. I mainly use Linux, but also have a Mac and Windows machines, so the only alternative to Renoise that I can think of for my needs is Overture 5 or Reaper.