Jump to content


Photo

Bouncing my song results in Renoise bouncing from the start again


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 encryptedmind

encryptedmind

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Interests:Jazz, malware, world travel, women

Posted 12 July 2017 - 23:57

While bouncing my song, it loops back to the beginning again from the end and exports about a minute more of pattern data. This results in a longer file than required and with post editing required to remove the tail end extra bouncing. This not just tails of reverbs etc where a few empty patterns make it smooth out at the end of a song. Even after having these provisions, it still loops back to the beginning and breaks half way. This is definitely a bug.

Anyone else has this problem?

Thanks.

encryptedmind

Victor Marak

 

uZIK|mAInD|Z0FTwA-RE


#2 Neurogami

Neurogami

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scottsdale AZ
  • Interests:Art, music, technology

Posted 13 July 2017 - 00:14

What is "bouncing"?



#3 Garrett Wang

Garrett Wang

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas
  • Interests:Science fiction, film and television

Posted 13 July 2017 - 01:41

Try putting ZT00, at the end of your song.

 

ZTxx - Set tempo (BPM) (20 - FF, 00 = stop song)



#4 encryptedmind

encryptedmind

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Interests:Jazz, malware, world travel, women

Posted 13 July 2017 - 12:37

Great tip and looks creative, let me try it out. Thanks:)
@Neurogami Bouncing is a music production jargon for computer DAWs feature when they export the project song file as a WAV/AIFF/FLAC, which is normally high bitrate/sample rate and lossless audio formats. A digital master copy if you like.

Its like what a graphic artists would call 'rendering' the output from his 3D software package.

encryptedmind

Victor Marak

 

uZIK|mAInD|Z0FTwA-RE


#5 Neurogami

Neurogami

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scottsdale AZ
  • Interests:Art, music, technology

Posted 13 July 2017 - 15:57

Great tip and looks creative, let me try it out. Thanks:)
@Neurogami Bouncing is a music production jargon for computer DAWs feature when they export the project song file as a WAV/AIFF/FLAC, which is normally high bitrate/sample rate and lossless audio formats. A digital master copy if you like.

Its like what a graphic artists would call 'rendering' the output from his 3D software package.

 

Thanks.   I'm familiar with bouncing from analog audio production (I used to bounce multiple tracks down to a mono mix to free up tracks on a Tascam 4-track open reel).  I'm not familiar with its use in Renoise discussions.  People seem to refer to copying or moving tracks, or rendering to a sample, or just rendering a song.

 

What you're describing sounds like what is called "rendering" in Renoise.  

 

I should have asked what *exact* actions are you taking when you say you are "bouncing"

 

There's a menu option to render a song to disk.  This should *not* loop back to the start and continue rendering.  The rendering should stop at the end of the last pattern.

 

The ZT00 command will stop playback when you play the song in Renoise, but the rendering function ignores it.   (I was a little surprised when I learned this, though the explanation made sense).  The render option by default render all patterns.  One has to specifically tell it to render a subset of patterns if that is what is wanted.  But at not point should it loop  after rendering the first pass.

 

So: What exactly are you doing when you say you are "bouncing"?



#6 encryptedmind

encryptedmind

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Interests:Jazz, malware, world travel, women

Posted 15 July 2017 - 21:02

RENOISE CAPTURE.png

 

 

Well here are the rendering/bounce (interchangeable terms) settings for my current project. I suppose the defaults work as usual. I will post the render results once I am done with it, though it should ideally work as is without resorting to tempo change tweaks etc.Thanks.

 


encryptedmind

Victor Marak

 

uZIK|mAInD|Z0FTwA-RE


#7 encryptedmind

encryptedmind

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Interests:Jazz, malware, world travel, women

Posted 15 July 2017 - 21:41

Update, I did a Realtime and the Offline render options and both result in the song file 75.2 MB (78,892,634 bytes). The original song lenth is 3:58 min and the rendered file is 4:58 min (even in the project song length display on the top right). However, the last minute added has the song playing from the beginning again breaking midway. 

 

I did the ZT00 (at the last not in the last pattern) and ZT4F (for the 1st pattern, since the last value latches). The difference being the song stops while in edit mode, but for rendering, the ZT00 does not work as @Neurogami said, and the pattern loops to verse 2 and after the verse 2 part is rendered it just breaks away and the rendering stops. I tried this for both offline and realtime modes.


encryptedmind

Victor Marak

 

uZIK|mAInD|Z0FTwA-RE


#8 Neurogami

Neurogami

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 603 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scottsdale AZ
  • Interests:Art, music, technology

Posted 15 July 2017 - 22:28

 

 

I did the ZT00 (at the last not in the last pattern) and ZT4F (for the 1st pattern, since the last value latches). The difference being the song stops while in edit mode, but for rendering, the ZT00 does not work as @Neurogami said, and the pattern loops to verse 2 and after the verse 2 part is rendered it just breaks away and the rendering stops. I tried this for both offline and realtime modes.

 

This is really odd.    The rendering should not be looping like that.  At least, I've never experience it so I don't think it would happen naturally.

 

I see nothing in the manual about rendering looping back

 

http://tutorials.ren...g_to_Audio_File

 

Is there something about pattern or sequence numbering that's different from the default?