Jump to content


Photo

WTF: Font size with 2560x1440 and 4K ... Eye cancer


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#26 sokoban

sokoban

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Posted 01 August 2017 - 20:25

I don't really understand the problem you are talking about...


  • Conner_Bw and radian like this

Sokoban - Ghisloban - GhisMart

https://soundcloud.com/ghismart


#27 OopsIFly

OopsIFly

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 950 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:...daydreams... -VS- ...propaganda...

Posted 01 August 2017 - 20:45

I use 25" 2560x1440

 

It works...but any smaller finer dpi and renoise would become really hard to use. I remember when I got the screen as upgrade from a low res one I was already using renoise, and it took some time for me to adapt to everything being smaller than I was used to.


Edited by OopsIFly, 01 August 2017 - 20:46.


#28 Bungle

Bungle

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 504 posts
  • Location:Over there by the thingeemebob

Posted 02 August 2017 - 02:29

OK a linear DAW needs HDPI, big orchestral arrangements, huge layered rock mixes whatever, wtf are you guys doing that warrants a huge high resolution monitor for Renoise, get your big monitor, keep your old one, run Renoise at 1920x1080 because there is zero point having more real estate, and use your big monitor for whatever you really bought it for.

Shit, even multi monitors makes more sense with Renoises UI than one big HDPI monitor.

FFS its just a tracker, people were making full tunes in trackers when they had 4 note poly and a resolution of 320x240 or something hahahaha

It's just a tracker, don't you get it hahaha


Edited by Bungle, 02 August 2017 - 02:29.

Meh

#29 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1505 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:music, philosophy, engineering

Posted 02 August 2017 - 11:29

Listen to Bungle. Just keep a backwards compatible 1080p monitor on your desk for the sole purpose of running Renoise on it. It's just a tracker.

#30 ffx

ffx

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2990 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:macOS fanboying

Posted 02 August 2017 - 12:13

Serious first world problems.... Not. Well, HighDPI gui already was confirmed, the question is when!  :badteeth:    I guess, all people who already using 4k will want to have support for it, because normal full hd really looks like eye cancer in comparison then.   


MacOS 10.12.6 Retina, Renoise 3.1 64 bit   -   Tuned Shortcuts | Multi-Jump From/To Send | Quick Template | Insert Native DSP Menu (incl. deprecated)


#31 joule

joule

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1505 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:music, philosophy, engineering

Posted 05 August 2017 - 09:38

Nothing to report about Renoise, so I changed the topic. Yes, looks exactly same. I wonder for the future, if it would be suitable "simply" to make all elements in a 3x sized bitmap, instead vectorize everything? Never built a app GUI, so I have no clue.


I am guessing that the dev process works something like this:

1) Make the app DPI aware under all operating systems - with respective scaling algorithms per default for all elements.
2) Vectorize element by element, starting with font rendering (same thing cakewalk has done) and then moving onto viewbuilder objects, other specific objects, grid/background/areas gfx and other specific renderings.
3) Done :P

Most probably, the image rendering engine should support both vector (SVG?) and bitmaps of any resolution. SVG seems much more space efficient, and should have a better potential for eventual subpixel rendering.

Edited by joule, 05 August 2017 - 09:40.


#32 Mivo

Mivo

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 18 August 2017 - 09:39

Serious first world problems.... Not. Well, HighDPI gui already was confirmed, the question is when!  :badteeth:    I guess, all people who already using 4k will want to have support for it, because normal full hd really looks like eye cancer in comparison then.   

 

If I had known that two years after I bought a 1440p display we still wouldn't have high-dpi support in Renoise, I would have bought another 1080p monitor instead or gone right for 4k (but for gaming I figured a single 980ti wouldn't really be idea for a 4k display and I couldn't spend even more). :)  27"/1440p really does not work well with Renoise at all, at least for me. I installed it on a 1080p laptop that I really don't use much anymore (and that I would like to drop Linux on), but my interface and studio monitors are connected to the desktop, so it feels sub-optimal.

 

If Taktik waits a few more years, I suspect the problem will go away as most people will have 4k or better by then and can just use 200% without huge quality loss. ;)  Seriously, though, I'm happy that work on high-dpi support had started already and that it will come at a future point in time.



#33 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2554 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 19 August 2017 - 00:47

I have  this big fat juicy lumb on my eyeball  .


THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA