Microtuning and the MONO glide setting in instruments

Hello!

I might be being dumb here (I’m new to using Renoise) but is there a way to make the glide to note function in the instrument options respect the tuning my samples are in… not sure how to explain this properly :blink:

say I’m using a weird Scala imported tuning for my instrument, the glide command will set the pitches of the glide to 12TET. gliding to a note vs playing the notes separately therefore changes the pitch of the note which is not ideal.

anyway round this. hope I’ve explained it clearly enough, sorry!

thanks,

Chris

Sorry, since the sampler doesn’t support microtonal tunings, I can’t really think of a way that this could achieved in real-time.

When you’re gliding, you are transposing the sample(s) that got triggered into the new pitch, using a regular semitone interval.

Even if the sampler did have some sort of keyzone crossfade mechanism, this would not be enough - at least not for multisample instruments where each sample had a unique tuning. Before such a thing could work it would need to determine the base frequency and adjust the tuning on the fly. Just doing some crossfading would sound, well, pretty bad I could imagine…

ok no worries! thanks for the reply :slight_smile:

Maybe it could be done™. But complicated to set up.

I’ve already used manual pitching via pitch modulation to make constant time glides via formula devices for a monophonic instrument. The normal sampler pitching was completely disabled for this, only pitch modulation was used to pitch the sample. It worked very well! I could imagine the fomula device that calcs/interpolates the pitch offset could as well have tuning data inside and adjust the glides and targets accordingly.