Beginner's questions

I’m just getting started with renoise and starting to record external sound sources like my bass guitar.

I’m able to get a decent sounding recording but can’t see any input level options with which to raise the

volume of the signal. Therefore slap-bass is about the right level but quieter fingerpicking is clearly not

optimal (looking at the graphical waveform representation). I realise the sample can be made louder using

the impedance toggle - post recording - but would prefer to set levels the traditional way.

Perhaps the Native / Effects / Gainer (bottom left in Renoise) can help you?

yeah, try the gainer.

thanks for the replies - I can’t find any tabs with ‘gainer’ written on them - is this an input level control or a post-recording option such as the sample volume (shown as db -/+). It’s amazing there isn’t a simple level slider and my soundcard is already at full volume so the only way is down and I need more volume to ensure the best audio capture.

The gainer is an audio effect you can add to your track effect chain. Seehttp://tutorials.renoise.com/wiki/Effect_Chains

When you record, you can choose whether to apply effects from a track to the recording.

But speaking to your concern about getting the best audio capture: applying a gainer in this way can’t improve recording quality.

I realise the sample can be made louder usingthe impedance toggle - post recording - but would prefer to set levels the traditional way.

I’m not sure what you mean by “impedance toggle - post recording.” You might want to take a look at the docs for your audio interface / sound card.

To add “Gainer” effect, select the column you want to play/record on.

Then go in the small window at the bottom left (Renoise v3.1), in Native / Effects:

3277f5b6ac4a8b781e099aad4c5fb899.png

Expand that node, find “Gainer”, double-click to add:

1 Like