Jump to content


Photo

Portable Renoise


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Didas_94

Didas_94

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Music computer, Role Playing Game

Posted 18 October 2017 - 19:05

Hi,

could you implement a portable edition like Reaper ?

 

Regards



#2 Neurogami

Neurogami

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 761 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scottsdale AZ
  • Interests:Art, music, technology

Posted 18 October 2017 - 22:19

There's a portable Reaper?



#3 random

random

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 273 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:X
  • Interests:Babylon by Bass

Posted 19 October 2017 - 11:09

You can installed on a usb-Stick

 


  • Neurogami likes this

#4 Medievil-Music

Medievil-Music

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia

Posted 19 October 2017 - 15:37

You can install Renoise on a USB flash driver without any problems ) It works as well. I used to do that since the 1.5 version.


Edited by Medievil-Music, 19 October 2017 - 15:37.

  • Conner_Bw likes this

#5 Didas_94

Didas_94

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Music computer, Role Playing Game

Posted 31 October 2017 - 16:19

for Reaper,

 

yes, when you launch installation, you can choice portable install.

 

and for Renoise, it's could be an good choice for traveler musician..:)



#6 Zer0 Fly

Zer0 Fly

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1257 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Am Mind
  • Interests:Buddha

Posted 31 October 2017 - 23:18

you don't need to install renoise at all, you can just run it from the same directory you unzipped the downloaded file - just put in on usb stick with your libraries and stuff and run from there...


  • Conner_Bw and Medievil-Music like this


#7 El°HYM

El°HYM

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 761 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NIBIRU
  • Interests:I AM El°HYM

Posted 01 November 2017 - 21:36

Me wants to run Renoise on a Gameboy & use the internal soundchip for synths & drums etc.


Inside ur Renoise; helping Byte-Smasher putting Cab Sims on ur Master.  :ph34r: 


#8 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 01 November 2017 - 22:22

you can just run it from the same directory you unzipped the downloaded file


While this is technically true, do keep in mind that Renoise will automatically recreate its config and preferences folder if they're not already present on the system, and you will therefore be running with the default keybindings and other settings in that case.

Renoise is not really "portable" per se, it's just rather forgiving when it comes to recreating the system files it needs in order to function correctly.

Just something to be aware of if you intend to run Renoise without leaving a footprint.

#9 ffx

ffx

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3482 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 02 November 2017 - 14:40

Though on mac/linux, you could make a symlink using "ln -s" from ~/Lib/Prefs/Renoise to your stick at /Volumes/Stick/RenoiseConfig or something. Still you would have to create such symbolic link on every system on your local user account.

 

EDIT: On the other hand, Renoise is constantly reading config dirs every 10 secs, maybe that technique would be harmful and slow on a usb stick.


Edited by ffx, 02 November 2017 - 14:47.

Test system: macOS 10.13.4, HFS+. Firewire Audio, i7 4770, 8GB Ram, GTX1050 2GB, 48kHz
GUI Automation RecorderNative DSP Context MenuTuned ShortcutsUnified Value Shift And Transpose | Jump To From Send Modified (Docs) | Quick Template | Nisanmol's Groove Tool FixedThemes