Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

stuff we actually need :(

multiband compression

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Type-A

Type-A

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 October 2017 - 15:52

am i the only thinking ''why renoise doesn't come  with a native multi-band compression device''

 

for processing in the mixer tracks..:(

 

 

do you guys use it at all....it seems that renoise users dont multiband compress .


 

 


#2 Zer0 Fly

Zer0 Fly

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1273 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Am Mind
  • Interests:Buddha

Posted 22 October 2017 - 16:51

well there is possibility to use the multiband send pointing to three send channels (or more by stacking the multiband devices properly...), and compress there, but it is a hassle to set up.

 

Imho renoise don't need multiband compressor, but parallel processing doofer where you can multiband send inside, to get the most of the devices already there. A bit like instrument fx but inside a doofer. Then you can build your multiband compressor/limiter inside that thing and just put on track or master. It will for sure have many other incredible use cases other than multiband compression.

 

I think most users just use a vst...


  • pat and Type-A like this


#3 Type-A

Type-A

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 October 2017 - 16:56

yeah like ableton's instrument and fx racks......yeah that would be even better ..but ..it seems unlikely that they add that feature..:(

 

indeed it would solve a lot of issues...and of course nu possibilities....freq spliting.....parallel processing of distortion...etc..

 

:(.....better not dream of this


 

 


#4 Zer0 Fly

Zer0 Fly

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1273 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Am Mind
  • Interests:Buddha

Posted 22 October 2017 - 17:07

I don't dream of it, I already do in the inst fx with renoise native instruments....just use as many fx chains as you like and send in between to create complex routings that can involve parallel action. If using vst instruments you can also do the same on track level, just create a shitload of send channels. But it is a bit more work to create/maintain such setups especially due to the lack of presets generation etc.

 

Why not dream of parallel processing doofers? Who knows what the next versions of renoise might bring?


  • Type-A likes this


#5 Type-A

Type-A

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 October 2017 - 17:24

ohh no you got me wrong....yeah.... i know it can be implemented but only with sample based instruments ...

and no one uses parallel processing of.. vsts in the mixer channels...because as you say.....the result would be a dozens of send channels...

 

 

but thats what im talking about the straightforward multi-band device...because there are already compressors inside renoise

how hard can it be...to create 3 of this  compressors packed in one ...with  freq splitting capabilities  in 3 or 4 bands ..so we can compress on the mixer channels....

 

basically using the devices they already have....they ended up creating a doofer

 

i know people have been demanding ......a lot of other features ..that they think are far more important....but a multiband compressor

has a lot of use .....

and yeah why not dream....as you say....of parallel processing doofers...

but...since i saw that there are features on demand for years..in this forum....

 

thats why i dont...bother myself on think of that :(


 

 


#6 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 22 October 2017 - 18:29

the free cockos /reaper plugins are what you need 

https://www.reaper.fm/reaplugs/


  • radian, Neurogami, midi error and 1 other like this

THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#7 Type-A

Type-A

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 October 2017 - 19:08

the free cockos /reaper plugins are what you need 

https://www.reaper.fm/reaplugs/

thank you very much i didnt know they have this stuff for free


 

 


#8 Psynapsex

Psynapsex

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Synthesis, Electronics, & Finance (Equity Research Analysis Intern)

    I'm a big fan of Venetian Snares, Psykovsky, Richard Devine, and The Advent.

    I've been using Reaktor 5 since 2008, and love the thought of a real analog modular synth.

Posted 22 October 2017 - 19:11

Parallel signal processing is what is needed. A detachable effect rack might save some time scrolling into eternaty as well.
  • pat and Type-A like this

#9 Type-A

Type-A

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 October 2017 - 19:16

Parallel signal processing is what is needed. A detachable effect rack might save some time scrolling into eternaty as well.

 

yeah ...to kinda solve the scrolling i like to process the sounds

in the effects instrument page

and only use .....the mixer channel insert  to mix..and to fade in/out or filter  entire groups..


  • Psynapsex likes this

 

 


#10 MattD

MattD

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 October 2017 - 21:44

I use TDR Nova, which is free: http://www.tokyodawn....net/tdr-nova/ ... but I agree with you that a multiband compressor (or the flexibility to create one with a doofer) would be nice to have.


KernUo9.png


#11 Gavin Graham

Gavin Graham

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • Interests:Chiptune, Bitpop, 8bit Core

Posted 23 October 2017 - 00:14

My smallest screen nowadays is 3K. I need a proper scalable user interface and not bandaid fixes for this.


Oh, and being able to assign a sample to multiple modulation groups in the instrument editor would be great!


Me on Soundcloud: My link

#12 Guest_ffx_*

Guest_ffx_*

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3521 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 23 October 2017 - 14:02

I would prefer an Ableton like parallel container device, and this included into the existing band split device. Then using comp/buscomp on the band slots. So a bitwig like approach. You can fiddle it now using send tracks, but that's kinda annoying to use workflow-wise.


  • pat likes this

#13 TheBellows

TheBellows

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2580 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo, Norway
  • Interests:Jepp

Posted 23 October 2017 - 17:18

Receive device.


  • CHoPS and pat like this


#14 Zer0 Fly

Zer0 Fly

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1273 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Am Mind
  • Interests:Buddha

Posted 23 October 2017 - 19:10

yes now I see the light, receive device could indeed also solve this, at minimum cost of having to alter how renoise works like now on gui level. but parallel processing chains will look like fucking spaghetti code that only its creator will understand, hehheh...


  • TheBellows and Type-A like this


#15 TheBellows

TheBellows

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2580 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo, Norway
  • Interests:Jepp

Posted 01 November 2017 - 20:26

Another thing we need: Sample start (automatable)


  • CHoPS, fladd and Psynapsex like this


#16 Psynapsex

Psynapsex

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Synthesis, Electronics, & Finance (Equity Research Analysis Intern)

    I'm a big fan of Venetian Snares, Psykovsky, Richard Devine, and The Advent.

    I've been using Reaktor 5 since 2008, and love the thought of a real analog modular synth.

Posted 03 November 2017 - 11:45

We need our licenses honored. We're all just left in the dark with the next update after 2 years. Get real.

It's situations like this where you gotta ask yourself "how many businesses sustained clientele with this sort of treatment?"

Edited by Psynapsex, 03 November 2017 - 11:55.

  • Type-A likes this

#17 TechnicallyYes

TechnicallyYes

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 06 November 2017 - 21:03

am i the only thinking ''why renoise doesn't come with a native multi-band compression device''

for processing in the mixer tracks..:(


do you guys use it at all....it seems that renoise users dont multiband compress .


I don’t think that counts as needed. Desirable? Yes. NEEDED. No. There are a million Multiband compressors that will work with renoise are thinks that can be fixed with a plug-in. High res display or audio tracks just can’t be plugged in.
  • Type-A likes this

#18 Type-A

Type-A

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 November 2017 - 23:22

I don’t think that counts as needed. Desirable? Yes. NEEDED. No. There are a million Multiband compressors that will work with renoise are thinks that can be fixed with a plug-in. High res display or audio tracks just can’t be plugged in.

 

 

well multiband compression is needed in mastering ..mixing ... ..

 

key aspects of actually producing music...every DAW comes with a built in multiband device ....maybe crappy ..... maybe awesome.....

 

but renoise ...dont have one

 

i want audio tracks too......but every decent multiband compressor out there.....costs as much as renoise.....

 

..but they already have compressor devices..and freq splitter and filter algorithms to do the freq splitting ...

 

 

why not pack this features in one device....so we can process ....vst's natively without the need of external audio effects

 

 

 

and by the way ...ive managed the multiband issue..someone in the thread recommend me ..the reaplugs

 

the free cockos /reaper plugins are what you need 

https://www.reaper.fm/reaplugs/


 

 


#19 TheBellows

TheBellows

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2580 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo, Norway
  • Interests:Jepp

Posted 08 November 2017 - 16:57

well multiband compression is needed in mastering ..mixing ... ..

 

key aspects of actually producing music...every DAW comes with a built in multiband device ....maybe crappy ..... maybe awesome.....

 

but renoise ...dont have one

 

 

You can already multiband compress using send tracks and native compressors or use a VST for it. If we get a receive device you could easily set up a multiband compressor natively in a doofer, so for me that would be way more awesome. :)


  • Type-A likes this


#20 TheBellows

TheBellows

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2580 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo, Norway
  • Interests:Jepp

Posted 09 November 2017 - 17:29

Vector point automation.



#21 Type-A

Type-A

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 November 2017 - 17:30

You can already multiband compress using send tracks and native compressors or use a VST for it. If we get a receive device you could easily set up a multiband compressor natively in a doofer, so for me that would be way more awesome. :)

the Bellows ..

 

bro i feel like we are ..talking the same :(

 

yeah ...multiband device ..receiver device....the same shit :)

 

at least one of the two its what we need


 

 


#22 TheBellows

TheBellows

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2580 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo, Norway
  • Interests:Jepp

Posted 10 November 2017 - 17:05

the Bellows ..

 

bro i feel like we are ..talking the same :(

 

yeah ...multiband device ..receiver device....the same shit :)

 

I don't think that is the same thing. A multiband compressor would be a DSP effect, while a 'receive device' would be a modular device that could be used for parallell processing in any DSP chain. 

I'm guessing that the CPU cost and latency is the biggest problem with a 'receive device', but i don't know? It sounds so easy, it just needs one or alternatively several send inputs with a slider for each. I'm not coding this stuff, so i really have no idea how complicated it would be to implement.

 

 

Another idea for what we actually need:

 

Optional VU meter for all DSPs. Ooh, that would have been great. :)



#23 valeriemanley

valeriemanley

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 November 2017 - 00:43

Came here to second the suggestion for native multi-band compression device but came to know about the free cockos /reaper plugins. Problem solved. Thank you SO much!

 

ohh no you got me wrong....yeah.... i know it can be implemented but only with sample based instruments ...

and no one uses parallel processing of.. vsts in the mixer channels...because as you can read my thought about phenq here .....the result would be a dozens of send channels...

 

 

but thats what im talking about because there are already compressors inside renoise how hard can it be...to create 3 of this  compressors packed in one ...with  freq splitting capabilities  in 3 or 4 bands ..so we can compress on the mixer channels....

 

basically using the devices they already have....they ended up creating a doofer

 

i know people have been demanding ......a lot of other features ..that they think are far more important....but a multiband compressor

has a lot of use .....

and yeah why not dream....as you say....of parallel processing doofers...

but...since i saw that there are features on demand for years..in this forum....

 

thats why i dont...bother myself on think of that  :(

 

 

ohh no you got me wrong....yeah.... i know it can be implemented but only with sample based instruments ...

and no one uses parallel processing of.. vsts in the mixer channels...because as you say.....the result would be a dozens of send channels...

 

 

but thats what im talking about the straightforward multi-band device...because there are already compressors inside renoise

how hard can it be...to create 3 of this  compressors packed in one ...with  freq splitting capabilities  in 3 or 4 bands ..so we can compress on the mixer channels....

 

basically using the devices they already have....they ended up creating a doofer

 

i know people have been demanding ......a lot of other features ..that they think are far more important....but a multiband compressor

has a lot of use .....

and yeah why not dream....as you say....of parallel processing doofers...

but...since i saw that there are features on demand for years..in this forum....

 

thats why i dont...bother myself on think of that  :(


Edited by valeriemanley, 06 July 2018 - 23:10.


#24 EatMe

EatMe

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 969 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 18 November 2017 - 02:59

Apply to selected blocks in pattern matrix in the advanced editor..


And chocolate milk from Renoise.



#25 _Mannaz230

_Mannaz230

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Galway, Ireland
  • Interests:loud

Posted 08 December 2017 - 14:21

Detachable mixer window. Pretty much every DAW has this and multiple monitor setups are pretty common these days. Being able to see mixer and patterns across monitors would be the best Christmas present ever.