Jump to content


Photo

User Effects Presets saved in Renoise can't be opened in Redux...?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 m.arthur

m.arthur

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:IDM, industrial, radiophonic & beyond

Posted 27 October 2017 - 05:05

This seems really screwed up to me...

 

I've used Renoise for a while, so I have a lot of Presets that I've created and saved for various FX like delay, doofers, etc.

 

I just recently got into Redux, and love it, but am encountering a major problem!

 

If I try to select any user preset for any FX device, it fails to load and gives me this message (see attached image).

 

The message makes no sense because I'm running the current version of Redux. Obviously there's some problem with loading patches I saved in Renoise, but why should this be the case ??

 

I really need access to all my content built in renoise, when using redux.....the instruments all load fine, but any FX presets results in this pop error message.

 

is there a fix? any sense of why this is happening?

 

thanks,

-Michael

Attached Images

  • Screen Shot 2017-10-26 at 8.59.28 PM.png

music composition services: holloway.media

old-school industrial music:  dead when i found her

 


#2 4Tey

4Tey

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 October 2017 - 06:30

Obviously there's some problem with loading patches I saved in Renoise, but why should this be the case ??

Speculation:  Perhaps because Renoise got a slight update and Redux didn't?

 

You could try loading one of the Renoise xrdp presets files into a text editor and looking for the doc_version line something like:

<FilterDevicePreset doc_version="11">

and modifying that to say:

<FilterDevicePreset doc_version="9">

Don't know if that would help.

 

 

Edit:

Sorry, I assumed the OP was running the latest version of Redux (1.01) from this statement....

The message makes no sense because I'm running the current version of Redux

So the only conclusion I thought was a overlooked version mismatch on upgrading to V3.1.1 of Renoise.


Edited by 4Tey, 27 October 2017 - 14:01.


#3 m.arthur

m.arthur

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:IDM, industrial, radiophonic & beyond

Posted 27 October 2017 - 06:39

Yeah I'm thinking it must be because of the bugfix update Renoise just got.....but I wonder if the devs are aware that the update broke all the user presets in everybody's Redux :(

 

I'll check out the text thing, maybe, but I have *so* many presets, that would be a lot of work....... hopefully the devs can address this issue.


music composition services: holloway.media

old-school industrial music:  dead when i found her

 


#4 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 27 October 2017 - 12:19

Speculation:  Perhaps because Renoise got a slight update and Redux didn't?

 

I really hope that's not the problem. We exactly did *not* want to invalidate shared presets etc. by releasing the bugfix. 

 

Also, it doesn't happen here. I wonder if you're running the latest version of Redux (1.01) ? 

Otherwise, perhaps you could share one of the problematic files here. 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#5 m.arthur

m.arthur

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:IDM, industrial, radiophonic & beyond

Posted 27 October 2017 - 16:53

I really hope that's not the problem. We exactly did *not* want to invalidate shared presets etc. by releasing the bugfix. 

 

Also, it doesn't happen here. I wonder if you're running the latest version of Redux (1.01) ? 

Otherwise, perhaps you could share one of the problematic files here. 

 

I am using Redux 1.01 yes, it's up to date.

 

I'm at work but when I'm home I'll grab some files and share them here.

 

That pop up error occurs for every single user preset (for all FX devices) in my library :(


music composition services: holloway.media

old-school industrial music:  dead when i found her

 


#6 m.arthur

m.arthur

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:IDM, industrial, radiophonic & beyond

Posted 28 October 2017 - 19:40

@danoise

 

Here are three FX presets from my library. All of them were originally made and saved in Renoise, all of them result in the error message for incompatability (see screenshot in OP).

 

Let me know if you learn of anything about this issue, thanks!

 

-Michael

Attached Files


Edited by m.arthur, 28 October 2017 - 19:40.

music composition services: holloway.media

old-school industrial music:  dead when i found her

 


#7 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 28 October 2017 - 21:06

Yup, there is indeed a problem there. 

 

The filter device preset got bumped up one number with Renoise 3.1, from v10 to v11. So, 4Tey was spot on.

But it's strange, because other preset types (device chain, etc) are not affected. 

 

Whatever the reason is for this, I think the solution is for us to release a snap update to Redux. 

Will get back with some more info on this... 


  • 4Tey likes this

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#8 m.arthur

m.arthur

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:IDM, industrial, radiophonic & beyond

Posted 28 October 2017 - 22:03

Yup, there is indeed a problem there. 

 

The filter device preset got bumped up one number with Renoise 3.1, from v10 to v11. So, 4Tey was spot on.

But it's strange, because other preset types (device chain, etc) are not affected. 

 

Whatever the reason is for this, I think the solution is for us to release a snap update to Redux. 

Will get back with some more info on this... 

 

Great, thanks so much for looking into it. Hope it's easy to resolve re: Redux update.


music composition services: holloway.media

old-school industrial music:  dead when i found her

 


#9 4Tey

4Tey

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 October 2017 - 06:07

Just as a more advanced thought for people with Linux and maybe MacOSX unix systems...  M.arthur says he has a number of presets in a directory, would it not be worth thinking about using say the command line program 'sed' to run through the xrdp preset files in the directory 'downgrading' the doc_version xml entry by 1.  Maybe something like:

sed -i 's/doc_version="11"/doc_version="10"/g' *.xrdp

Not saying that the above is perfect/reliable in any way (so best to backup directories before doing anything like that to the current xrdp files), just showing that with some thought there maybe is a more automated way of doing text 'search and replace' in a collection of files.  Or you could just wait for a newer version of Redux :)



#10 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 29 October 2017 - 10:38

@4Tey: yes, likely this won't introduce additional problems and could be a handy short-term solution

But I'm looking to learn why the number was increased in the first place.  

 

@m.arthur: save a backup if you plan to proceed with this step. And keep them around, just in case. 


  • 4Tey likes this

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#11 m.arthur

m.arthur

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, Oregon
  • Interests:IDM, industrial, radiophonic & beyond

Posted 29 October 2017 - 18:21

@4Tey: yes, likely this won't introduce additional problems and could be a handy short-term solution

But I'm looking to learn why the number was increased in the first place.  

 

@m.arthur: save a backup if you plan to proceed with this step. And keep them around, just in case. 

 

I appreciate 4tay's efforts, but that level of problem-solving is a bit beyond my pay grade, so to speak. I'm more likely to mess something up than fix anything, in that area. I'll just wait for the Redux update :)


  • 4Tey likes this

music composition services: holloway.media

old-school industrial music:  dead when i found her