Jump to content


Photo

Renoise Natives Compo - Round I #BREAKBEATZ *closed*

renoise natives competition

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
186 replies to this topic

#26 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 15 February 2018 - 18:03

i just made this drumkit


Nice little freebie to help people get started, but I have to nit-pick just a little bit :)

Many of the samples are not quite trimmed cleanly, giving them a small click/pop at the very end, and it's quite noticeable on the C#3 sound and snare on D-3 in particular.

The kit has also been rendered with reverb on top which is actually bleeding from sample to sample, making them a bit less useful as standalone/oneshot sounds.

For example, the clave/bell type sound on D#3 can be heard reverberating into the tom on E-3, and even into the high hats on F-3 and F#3.

I would recommend rendering to sample without the reverb applied if possible, to get nice clean (and short!) drum sounds, and then simply add the reverb back as a realtime DSP if it's necessary to the overall sound.

Cheers!
  • niNja_pWn3d, El°HYM and Type-A like this

#27 Type-A

Type-A

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 February 2018 - 18:07

Nice little freebie to help people get started, but I have to nit-pick just a little bit :)

Many of the samples are not quite trimmed cleanly, giving them a small click/pop at the very end, and it's quite noticeable on the C#3 sound and snare on D-3 in particular.

The kit has also been rendered with reverb on top which is actually bleeding from sample to sample, making them a bit less useful as standalone/oneshot sounds.

For example, the clave/bell type sound on D#3 can be heard reverberating into the tom on E-3, and even into the high hats on F-3 and F#3.

I would recommend rendering to sample without the reverb applied if possible, to get nice clean (and short!) drum sounds, and then simply add the reverb back as a DSP if it's necessary to the overall sound.

Cheers!

 

thanks for pointing this out ..

 

i didn't trim the samples by hand i use the slice feature and then destructively separated the individual hits :(

 

and  at that time ...i rendered the samples with reverb because i was using ...one of my vsts reverbs :(

 

which are cool

 

 

 

in the trim case ...my bad ..so sorry .. but the bleeding reverb tail can be easily fixed with a fadeout ...in each sample ...ill fix the kit and ...upload it again


  • ulrikkold and El°HYM like this

 

 


#28 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 15 February 2018 - 18:15

the bleeding reverb tail can be easily fixed


I just meant that the sound on D#3 can be heard quietly in the background of the high hats on F-3 and F#3.

In other words, it's impossible to play the high hats by themselves without also hearing some of the residual reverb from D#3.

Just a small thing to consider that may limit the creative options a little bit. No big deal really :)
  • El°HYM and Type-A like this

#29 Type-A

Type-A

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 February 2018 - 20:10

I just meant that the sound on D#3 can be heard quietly in the background of the high hats on F-3 and F#3.

In other words, it's impossible to play the high hats by themselves without also hearing some of the residual reverb from D#3.

Just a small thing to consider that may limit the creative options a little bit. No big deal really :)

 

 

thanks for your time in checking out the instrument Dblue :)

 

yeah already working on fixing it :)


  • El°HYM likes this

 

 


#30 Zer0 Fly

Zer0 Fly

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1257 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Am Mind
  • Interests:Buddha

Posted 15 February 2018 - 20:42

Just want to chime in, as rules are no VST reverb. And renoise Reverbs are very brittle and metallic and have no good space feel. But renoise has a native convolver device which can do very nice reverb sounds!

 

I have made a thread how you can capture a reverb VST with its current settings to use in the renoise convolver. The convolver is a native device, and it is basically fed with a sample that defines the captured reverb and is preserved within the preset data.

 

Here read how I do it: http://forum.renoise...ins-in-renoise/

 

It is a bit fiddling, and the convolver eats some CPU, but you will get very close in result to the reverb VST you captured.

 

 

@LOB if you wish to make a cpu friendly drumkit with your reverb baked to it, first slice then destructively render slices to get keymapped oneshot samples. Make an instrument effects chain with the reverb of your choice, and tune it to taste. Once you're satisfied with the results, you can render DSP FX from FX Chain for each of the samples, each can get its own reverb tail. Maybe you will need to add silence to contain the reverb tail, I'm not sure atm. This way you can also have different Reverb settings for each drum hit or drum type. Then you can remove the Reverb VST.


Edited by OopsIFly, 15 February 2018 - 23:06.

  • El°HYM and Type-A like this


#31 Type-A

Type-A

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 February 2018 - 23:42

 

 

@LOB if you wish to make a cpu friendly drumkit with your reverb baked to it, first slice then destructively render slices to get keymapped oneshot samples. Make an instrument effects chain with the reverb of your choice, and tune it to taste. Once you're satisfied with the results, you can render DSP FX from FX Chain for each of the samples, each can get its own reverb tail. Maybe you will need to add silence to contain the reverb tail, I'm not sure atm. This way you can also have different Reverb settings for each drum hit or drum type. Then you can remove the Reverb VST.

 

 

thanks man

i updated the kit uploading it right now :)


  • ulrikkold and El°HYM like this

 

 


#32 Type-A

Type-A

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 February 2018 - 00:01

download link in the video description

 

the breakbeat kit updated :)

 

this time fixing the errors :) :drummer:

 

 

 


  • dblue and El°HYM like this

 

 


#33 ulrikkold

ulrikkold

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 16 February 2018 - 08:27

What is not working? does give any error messages? Since, here on my debian box is workes great...

 

 

Well, guess I have to go back and check what does not work - I haven't tried to use it in a long time since it did not work as I expected it to, when I tried compiling and installing it a (long) while ago.

 

Also, I can see that OopsIFly has linked to a thread and a patch which I might have some luck with. Thanks for giving me hope again :)


@ulrikkold I have the CDP Tool running on linux. Was a bit of hassle - I needed to compile CDP myself, and I needed to fix it before doing so to get all the processors. I described in the CDP tool page thread with a patch diff that fixes the source so it will compile everything: http://forum.renoise...-16#entry355331

 

PM me if you need assistance getting it running. I will try to help you.

 

I also tried compiling it myself by going through this guide from Vorpal Sound: http://vorpalsound.c...dp-setup-guide/ - but I just ran my head against a wall.

 

I will try to look into both the "official" CDP guide for linux ( https://www.renoise....-cdp-tool-guide ) and take a look at the thread you linked to.

 

I will get back to you if I need assistance. Thanks for the offer :)


  • El°HYM and Type-A like this

#34 El°HYM

El°HYM

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 761 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NIBIRU
  • Interests:I AM El°HYM

Posted 16 February 2018 - 09:22

Of course #breakbeats are allowed in this competition; just also submit/upload the #xrni file & keep in mind that they need to be #royalty free.  :drummer:

What is not working? does give any error messages? Since, here on my debian box is workes great...

 

 

Oh yes, and maybe stupid question huh. but we can sample breaks i guess... since round one is breakbeat....


  • Type-A likes this

Inside ur Renoise; helping Byte-Smasher putting Cab Sims on ur Master.  :ph34r: 


#35 portabello

portabello

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 16 February 2018 - 18:31

Can you please explain what constitutes a 'Royalty Free' break? I'm working on a tune with some stuff from the bourbon breaks pack. I'm processing and chopping everything to the point where it isn't really that recognizable anymore. If I destructively render out my modified version of the break before distributing the xrns would that be sufficient? The original, unmodified sample would not be present anywhere in my submission.


  • El°HYM and Type-A like this

#36 Type-A

Type-A

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 February 2018 - 18:35

if the bourbon breaks pack are free to download from this site  i think you can use them !! 


  • El°HYM likes this

 

 


#37 portabello

portabello

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 16 February 2018 - 18:51

Awesome! Thanks


  • El°HYM and Type-A like this

#38 El°HYM

El°HYM

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 761 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NIBIRU
  • Interests:I AM El°HYM

Posted 16 February 2018 - 19:37

All in all...this is already pretty awesome!

 

:drummer: Thanks to everyone involved so far.


  • Type-A likes this

Inside ur Renoise; helping Byte-Smasher putting Cab Sims on ur Master.  :ph34r: 


#39 lilith

lilith

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany - Karlsruhe

Posted 18 February 2018 - 16:25

Hey lilith seems I'm in a similar boat to you.. ! (Nice avatar, any idea what the instrument is that Sleazy was praying with?)

 

So much to learn... .

 

Looks a bit like something from Teenage Engineering, but I guess it's homebuilt (mabye by Chris Carter?)



#40 Type-A

Type-A

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 February 2018 - 16:48

oh man lets turn this acid :)

 

 


  • danoise, TheBellows, El°HYM and 1 other like this

 

 


#41 ulrikkold

ulrikkold

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 21 February 2018 - 11:41

Since the theme for this round is Breaks, I thought I would share this little tutorial from Vorpal Sound / Emre: http://vorpalsound.c...e-redux-breaks/


  • Type-A likes this

#42 Type-A

Type-A

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 February 2018 - 14:49

Since the theme for this round is Breaks, I thought I would share this little tutorial from Vorpal Sound / Emre: http://vorpalsound.c...e-redux-breaks/

 

yeah this tutorial is awesome ..

one of the 1st tutorials i ..discovered in vorpal sound...

along with his tut on how to install cpd tool ..for windows


  • El°HYM likes this

 

 


#43 TheBellows

TheBellows

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2570 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo, Norway
  • Interests:Jepp

Posted 21 February 2018 - 17:18

I already made a track for this, but i noticed you wrote 

 

 

  • Do we have to keep everything as a renoise instrument? >>> Yes & Please submit #xrns & #xrni files.

What exactly do you mean with this? Why would you need xrni's when all the xrni's are already a part of the xrns? You can't seriously expect me to export all the 20-30 single sample instruments to each their own xrni? 

 

Also, it's impossible for me to find out if any of the samples i downloaded from random places on the internet are all completely royalty free. As long as it goes under 'fair use' it should be enough imo.


Edited by TheBellows, 21 February 2018 - 17:34.

  • El°HYM and Type-A like this


#44 El°HYM

El°HYM

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 761 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NIBIRU
  • Interests:I AM El°HYM

Posted 21 February 2018 - 17:23

Maybe thats a bit too much then....the idea was to provide content to these forums, so if people also submit their #xrni files, this would be a nice addition to the download section. But in your case. or its like 30,40,50 instruments; the #xrns file should be more than enough  :ph34r:


Edited by El°HYM, 21 February 2018 - 17:24.

  • TheBellows likes this

Inside ur Renoise; helping Byte-Smasher putting Cab Sims on ur Master.  :ph34r: 


#45 TheBellows

TheBellows

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2570 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo, Norway
  • Interests:Jepp

Posted 21 February 2018 - 17:44

Maybe thats a bit too much then....the idea was to provide content to these forums, so if people also submit their #xrni files, this would be a nice addition to the download section. But in your case. or its like 30,40,50 instruments; the #xrns file should be more than enough  :ph34r:

Honestly i think instead of adding valuable content to the download section it rather clutters it up adding a lot of nonsense instruments. I don't think i'm the only one that finds this a bit problematic, because xrni is so powerful i feel a bit betrayed when someone uploads a single sample as an xrni with no macros or phrases or anything. 

Xrns is an xrni container, so to me it makes much more sense to open the xrns and listen to the instruments in context and save the ones you like. Much less time consuming than to downlad a bunch of instruments, then find out how they sound and then delete the ones you don't like or let them clutter up your drive. I also prefer saving my samples as samples and not xrni's.  ;)


Edited by TheBellows, 21 February 2018 - 17:49.

  • El°HYM likes this


#46 Zer0 Fly

Zer0 Fly

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1257 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Am Mind
  • Interests:Buddha

Posted 21 February 2018 - 18:32

please only require a song render and an .xrns - should be prove enough to find no plugins have been used. you can still extract .xrnis from the .xrns to put into the download section, not let the composer do it but the compo team maybe, or in collective effort by the community. this way you can also try to ensure the royalty aspect of the samples used. you should expect a lot of people just using "free" samples, but still having copyright applied in regards of distribution of the original raw sample itself. you can demand free samples as much as you like, there still will be stray licensed in every tune, to the point of making the whole compo obsolete if you disqualify every tune that features just a little licensed sample.

 

my samples are so very royal, they already demanded being addressed with some proper application of the pluralis majestis. also they tend to insert peasant instruments if placed too close to instruments using the saw_c1, or even the very lowly sine_c1. I think they just dislike being too close commoners. Not sure what I want to do to deal with it. I guess I have to replace sine/saw_c1 with some cycles recorded from vst or generated from own code?

 

otherwise I try to use samples from "converse rubber tracks", they seem to have a very liberal license, and good microphones, very royal sound, gown almost purple and very stringent air around the nostrils - no crown yet, but already some wicked plans of ursupation going on.


  • ulrikkold and El°HYM like this


#47 El°HYM

El°HYM

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 761 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NIBIRU
  • Interests:I AM El°HYM

Posted 21 February 2018 - 19:36

I like the idea of maybe just picking a few of the best instruments for the #xrni section & leave the submission uploads just audio/xrns;

Yet me didnt start this one on my own, so I would also like for @LandOf Bits to add his thoughts here, which should be no prob, though.

This all started so quickly and got received in a very positive way & Way more than we expected; that it was obvious from the beginning, 

that some things might have to be changed on the fly. So with this said: constructive criticism or adding positive ideas are very welcome.


  • TheBellows and Type-A like this

Inside ur Renoise; helping Byte-Smasher putting Cab Sims on ur Master.  :ph34r: 


#48 Type-A

Type-A

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 February 2018 - 20:25

yeah my initial understanding was that people need to provide .the renoise project file xrnx ....theres no need to ..submit the xrni .as a separate file !!!

since its already included in the ....XRNX ..

 

 

.also ..if people want to upload..their creations ..to the download sections...its completely up to them ..i personally upload my stuff to google drive and share ..using the direct link :)

 

 

i think myself and

El°HYM

 

are on the same page regarding this stuff :0

 

 

 

that being said....cant wait to hear ..your music crew :)

 

 

i hope some of you guys ..used tthe trick from my last video :).


  • TheBellows and El°HYM like this

 

 


#49 TheBellows

TheBellows

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2570 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo, Norway
  • Interests:Jepp

Posted 26 February 2018 - 18:21

This might be a silly question, but i'm not really sure what qualifies as a breakbeat? Does it have to be around 170-180BPM or whatever? I started a new track for this, but it suddenly came to mind that it is playing in 134BPM, which sounds a bit slow for a breakbeat? Does a breakbeat have to be fast paced? 


Edited by TheBellows, 26 February 2018 - 18:39.

  • El°HYM likes this


#50 Zer0 Fly

Zer0 Fly

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1257 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Am Mind
  • Interests:Buddha

Posted 26 February 2018 - 18:28

I though, by the genre reveal video, that some...prodigy alike stuff around 140 bpm with breakbeat alike rhythm would be adequate?

 

What I'm at atm turned out a bit cheesy funk alike, not so dark/bold as prodigy or similar music, at least it is spacy and about stars.

 

Not sure if I make finishing it before 3-10. I'll try.

 

 

Edit P.S. @Bellows, the 170-180 is jungle, which sports rhythms rolling around sped up breakbeats, maybe that is why you thought of such tempo. Trip Hop or Hip Hop might used slowed down breakbeats.


Edited by OopsIFly, 26 February 2018 - 18:41.

  • TheBellows, ulrikkold, El°HYM and 1 other like this






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: renoise, natives, competition