Jump to content


Photo

[Bug] XRNIs doesn't work with polyphonic aftertouch?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 29 March 2018 - 14:01

..or is it just channel aftertouch?

 

cheers



#2 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7008 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 29 March 2018 - 14:20

Yes, XRNI and Redux should support this.

In Renoise, these values are recorded into the volume-column, but you would of course need a keyboard which support this mode. 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#3 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 29 March 2018 - 14:28

OK but how do I map the data to parameters in the instrument - modulation or effect etc? I can only see the Channel Aftertouch macro

 

I can get it working with Diva fine

 

cheers



#4 Zer0 Fly

Zer0 Fly

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1273 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Am Mind
  • Interests:Buddha

Posted 29 March 2018 - 14:50

only channel aftertouch, no poly I think.

 

in the instrument editor to the left of the claviature at the bottom there are three sliders with a mapping button - it works like the macros. one is pitch bend, one is mod wheel, the third is channel aftertouch. you can map it to almost any modulation or dsp fx parameter.



#5 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7008 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 29 March 2018 - 15:53

OK but how do I map the data to parameters in the instrument - modulation or effect etc?

 

You don't - everything that poly aftertouch does is to feed velocities to the plugin - 

which can then be interpreted (polyphonically) via the velocity-tracker modulation device, or (monophonically) via the velocity tracker DSP device.  


  • Zer0 Fly likes this

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#6 Zer0 Fly

Zer0 Fly

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1273 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Am Mind
  • Interests:Buddha

Posted 29 March 2018 - 16:03

oh ssth learnt again



#7 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 29 March 2018 - 16:32

Ahh gotcha. Thanks. The velocity changes for example the filter cutoff.

 

But changing the volume values of a playing sample will by default change its volume, which is not necessarily what I want. Is there a way to decouple that behaviour? (so that volume remains constant, but the velocity tracker alters the cutoff)


Edited by boonier, 29 March 2018 - 17:14.


#8 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7008 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 30 March 2018 - 10:10

But changing the volume values of a playing sample will by default change its volume, which is not necessarily what I want. Is there a way to decouple that behaviour? (so that volume remains constant, but the velocity tracker alters the cutoff)

 

Sure, this is done from the keyzone editor. 

You can use the "Vel > Vol" button to decide if velocity is applied, for each individual sample. 

 

There's another one "Key > Pitch" that allows decoupling pitch, in case you want to implement your own tuning using a key-tracking device.


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#9 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 02 April 2018 - 21:54

Sure, this is done from the keyzone editor. 

You can use the "Vel > Vol" button to decide if velocity is applied, for each individual sample. 

 

Thanks, yeh I tried that and it does, as expected decouple the note on velocity, but it doesn't have any effect with regard to the sample level remaining constant (at least in my tests). Am I doing something wrong?



#10 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 03 April 2018 - 09:42

I've attached an example, just one sample vel -> vol switched off

 

The Filter modulation has a (bypassed) Cutoff Velocity tracker to demonstrate the aftertouch affecting the cutoff freq, but the the overall volume level of the sample is being changed, which is not what I'm wanting in this case. I know this is ingrained into tracker methodology, but I can't see how to use poly aftertouch without changing the level of the source sample, which I believe happens before hitting the Modulation stage.

 

Attached File  XRNI velocity test.xrns   6.55KB   29 downloads



#11 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7008 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 03 April 2018 - 10:42

I've attached an example, just one sample vel -> vol switched off


Huh - you're right!
I just checked with an XRNI and XRNI/Redux, and both does the same thing (what you describe).

Ideally, nothing should change when changing volume while VEL>VOL is decoupled and no devices are looking for/tracking velocity changes.

But it does - and in a very annoying fashion, in which the initial velocity is applied correctly (as in: ignored),
but any velocity following that one gets applied to the sample.

Unless there is something I missed, this seems broken to me. You agree?

I would have expected it to work just like the KEY>PITCH decoupling - which is to say, decouple to "roll your own solution".

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#12 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 03 April 2018 - 11:02

Yeah I agree, it's not working as expected :)



#13 Guest_ffx_*

Guest_ffx_*

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3521 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 03 April 2018 - 11:10

danoise, if you guys would allow instrument effects also per VSTi (by allowing vsti output to instr. chains), fixing poly aftertouch for XRNI and then also adding some kind of simple MPE support (supporting multiple midi channels per instrument and routing per midi channel), so even instrument fx could be used as note fx by duplicating the fx chains, maybe if you would do that taks all at once, it would save a lot of time. I mean maybe even the Renoise instrument modulation section could be used on a VSTi, using MPE? Crazy things could be possible.


  • boonier likes this

#14 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 03 April 2018 - 11:24

add Modulation groups to that also - think nested modulation chains 

 

also filter section pre/post amplitude


Edited by boonier, 03 April 2018 - 11:25.

  • Guest_ffx_* likes this

#15 Guest_ffx_*

Guest_ffx_*

    Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3521 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 03 April 2018 - 15:00

Yes, allow routing a modulation chain into another (serial), remove the target in the sample/vsti channel option, instead select the target directly in the sample/vsti channel list, so 1-n relations are possible (parallel). Select a chain, now select source samples/channels.



#16 boonier

boonier

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 19 April 2018 - 09:00

Unless there is something I missed, this seems broken to me. You agree?

 

Sorry I realise this thread went cold, should I be submitting a Bug or Feature Request?



#17 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7008 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 19 April 2018 - 11:09

No need - the problem is reproducible, so you would just end up duplicating information that we already have. 

 

This is already the Bugs/Support forum, but let me just rename the topic slightly. 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud