Renoise Forums: Linux Version Requirements - Renoise Forums

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Linux Version Requirements

#1 User is offline   taktik 

  • Renoise Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admins
  • Posts: 14329
  • Joined: 03-October 02
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

  Posted 17 January 2008 - 09:25 PM

To start Renoise on Linux you'll need:

- a processor which supports the SSE instruction set

- x86 based Linux Dist with GCC 4.X libs installed

- X.org 7.1 or newer (X Windows System)

- GFX card/monitor config with 15,16 or 24 bit colors - min 1024x768 pixels

- libasound2 (ALSA >= 1.0 for Audio + MIDI)

- when running a 64bit OS: compatibility libs for 32bit apps (renoise is delivered as 32bit app only)


Optional (Renoise will start without):

- libjack (Jack Audio system)

- libXcursor (to display the nice Renoise cursors)

- libXinerama (for proper dual monitor support)

- libfontconfig (to display Asian characters/fonts within Renoise)

- libmpg123 (to load mp3 samples)

For detailed infos see the Renoise on Linux FAQ on tutorials.renoise.com.


Any Linux desktop distribution which is not older than 1-2 years should fullfil these requirements (including the optional ones).

Note: Renoise will start and run also with no Window Manager installed. So you can run Renoise on a minimal (Linux server) dist with just a XServer and ALSA installed.
0

#2 User is offline   preglow 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 04-April 05

Posted 19 January 2008 - 01:26 AM

View Posttaktik, on Jan 17 2008, 09:25 PM, said:

- a 32bit OS - x64 based distributions will not run Renoise!
You can install a 32bit Linux version on your 64bit systems without any problems though.

Just thought I'd mention this really isn't true, as long as you have installed the proper 32 bit compatibility libraries. I'm currently running Renoise just fine on a 64 bit Ubuntu with no troubles. You just need to remember to install ia32-libs or whatever equivalent exists in your distro.
Oh, and BTW, a big fat "thank you" to all people involved in this port, I love it!
0

#3 User is offline   preglow 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 04-April 05

Posted 21 January 2008 - 01:10 AM

View Posttaktik, on Jan 20 2008, 12:32 PM, said:

Thanks, changed this in the requirements description. We had problems running the alpha versions of renoise on 64bit systems. Seems we simply did something wrong...

On that note, are you planning on releasing a 64 bit version eventually?
0

#4 User is offline   It-Alien 

  • Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 9578
  • Joined: 09-October 02
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 21 January 2008 - 11:04 AM

I'm the responsible for the "32bit environment only" statement, because I'm the only one in the Linux test team having a 64bit CPU. I would like to know how you have managed to run Renoise under a 64bit system.

did you simply install ia32 libs, or did you also have to create a chroot environment? if the second case is true, then I think the statement is still true: after all, creating a chroot is nothing more than installing a 32bit environment into a 64bit one.
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: "Mind Layers" (MP3 - XRNS (RNS3.0+)) (Dark Ambient - 4'04")


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

Posted Image

Listen on Soundcloud.com ("Mind Layers", 4'04" Dark Ambient)
0

#5 User is offline   preglow 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 04-April 05

Posted 21 January 2008 - 12:41 PM

View PostIt-Alien, on Jan 21 2008, 11:04 AM, said:

I'm the responsible for the "32bit environment only" statement, because I'm the only one in the Linux test team having a 64bit CPU. I would like to know how you have managed to run Renoise under a 64bit system.

did you simply install ia32 libs, or did you also have to create a chroot environment? if the second case is true, then I think the statement is still true: after all, creating a chroot is nothing more than installing a 32bit environment into a 64bit one.

Quite simply just install the appropriate 32 bit libs with apt-get/aptitude. No chroot involved.I run all my 32 bit programs this way.
0

#6 User is offline   wrl 

  • Super Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: 02-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:berlin

Posted 02 February 2008 - 12:49 PM

View Postpreglow, on Jan 20 2008, 04:10 PM, said:

On that note, are you planning on releasing a 64 bit version eventually?

Seconding this question, if you don't mind. All of my LADSPA plugins are compiled as 64-bit libraries, so they're not usable from Renoise as it stands.
0

#7 User is offline   ryo 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 29-January 08

Posted 02 February 2008 - 02:56 PM

View Postvisinin, on Feb 2 2008, 12:49 PM, said:

Seconding this question, if you don't mind.

Yeah, a 64bit version would be really nice.. 64bit is the future. It doesnt make much sense to use a 32bit GNU/Linux with an 64bit CPU because the (binary) 64bit GNU/Linux is much faster

This post has been edited by ryo: 02 February 2008 - 02:58 PM

0

#8 User is offline   taktik 

  • Renoise Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admins
  • Posts: 14329
  • Joined: 03-October 02
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 06 February 2008 - 03:25 PM

View Postryo, on Feb 2 2008, 02:56 PM, said:

Yeah, a 64bit version would be really nice.. 64bit is the future. It doesnt make much sense to use a 32bit GNU/Linux with an 64bit CPU because the (binary) 64bit GNU/Linux is much faster


Just took a look at this again, if its possible to distribute 64bit binaries as well, and I guess thats nothing I can offer for now. Why?

1. the Renoise backend is not yet ready to be compiled for 64bit. There is not THAT much work left, but this involves a lot of testing and finetuning, also for the other platforms where we sooner or later want to have 64bit binaries. Thats nothing I want to start in a beta cycle, as this can easily result in a huge chaos.

2. providing 2 builds for Linux (actually 2 new - demos and regged versions) means more overhead for us. Even if the releases are automated, the testing is not (we dont release any build that we dont have at least quickly tested), thus we are happy about any overhead that can be avoided

3. I even have not yet tested and verified how well GCC cross compiles on Linux - if this works at all in practice. Building the 64bit and 32bit executables on two different machines or VMs means again a lot of overhead for us. Has anyone some experiences with cross-compiling for x86-64 on 32bit systems?


So, in summary: 64builds builds will come, also for Windows and Mac OS, but definitely NOT for this release (1.9.1).
0

#9 User is offline   preglow 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 04-April 05

Posted 06 February 2008 - 06:46 PM

View Posttaktik, on Feb 6 2008, 03:25 PM, said:

Just took a look at this again, if its possible to distribute 64bit binaries as well, and I guess thats nothing I can offer for now. Why?

1. the Renoise backend is not yet ready to be compiled for 64bit. There is not THAT much work left, but this involves a lot of testing and finetuning, also for the other platforms where we sooner or later want to have 64bit binaries. Thats nothing I want to start in a beta cycle, as this can easily result in a huge chaos.

2. providing 2 builds for Linux (actually 2 new - demos and regged versions) means more overhead for us. Even if the releases are automated, the testing is not (we dont release any build that we dont have at least quickly tested), thus we are happy about any overhead that can be avoided

3. I even have not yet tested and verified how well GCC cross compiles on Linux - if this works at all in practice. Building the 64bit and 32bit executables on two different machines or VMs means again a lot of overhead for us. Has anyone some experiences with cross-compiling for x86-64 on 32bit systems?
So, in summary: 64builds builds will come, also for Windows and Mac OS, but definitely NOT for this release (1.9.1).

This is very nice to hear. Please let me know if you need any more testers :)
As for cross compiling, GCC has quite good support for this, but the only way I've tried this myself is compiling for 32 bit systems on a 64 bit GCC, where this can be achieved by using the -m32 flag (gcc -m32 hello.c -o hello, for example). This requires the standard stuff, proper headers, proper 32 bit development libs installed. I don't know if this method will yield a binary that is identical to one a 32 bit GCC would produce, but the resulting binary does work on all 32 bit CPUs you want it to, as decided by the -march flag.
It also seems there's a -m64 flag on 32 bit GCC's which would work the other way, but I've never tried this myself.
0

#10 User is offline   ryo 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 29-January 08

Posted 08 February 2008 - 04:58 PM

Thanks for clarification!
0

#11 User is offline   norv 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 23-February 08

Posted 23 February 2008 - 01:32 AM

Just adding support for request for 64-bit version of Renoise and volunteering as tester :)

I got Renoise for Linux this week after reading Dave Phillip's excellent review at www.linuxjournal.com
A wonderful piece of software, thank you to all devs and Renoise community!

I'm still using demo version while I work out what I can actually do with 32-bit Renoise on 64-bit OS - no JACK, no LADSPA plugins, both known issues.

Renoise will most likely be the first software I pay for!

Thanks again! :walkman:

Edit: I'm a registered user now B)

This post has been edited by norv: 28 February 2008 - 02:19 AM

OS: Linux Debian sid 64-bit
Kernel: 2.6.29.1-rt8 #1 SMP PREEMPT RT
CPU: AMD64 X2 6000+ dual-core
RAM: 4G DDR800
PCI: M-Audio Delta Audiophile 2496
0

#12 User is offline   jk123 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: 28-June 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 August 2008 - 12:25 AM

Renoise is the best tracker for Linux that I know of... Thanks!

(Disregard stuff I wrote about libjack incompatibility - it was a jack double-installation problem, my bad.)

This post has been edited by jk123: 25 August 2008 - 12:49 AM

0

#13 User is offline   b0nafide 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 07-September 08

Posted 08 September 2008 - 06:15 AM

Renoise on Gentoo Linux with gcc 3.4.6 ... using libstdc++.so.6.0.3

was not able to run Renoise 1.9.1 ...

The installation script was successful. Unfortunately running the program fails because it has been pre-compiled against a very specific version of libstdc++

# ldd renoise
./renoise: /usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.4.6/libstdc++.so.6: version `CXXABI_1.3.1' not found (required by ./renoise)


it runs great on Debian!

anybody else found an easier way than installing an earlier version of gcc to do this?
0

#14 User is offline   taktik 

  • Renoise Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admins
  • Posts: 14329
  • Joined: 03-October 02
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 08 September 2008 - 12:00 PM

View Postb0nafide, on Sep 8 2008, 07:15 AM, said:

anybody else found an easier way than installing an earlier version of gcc to do this?


You will need a "x68 based Linux Dist with !!GCC 4.X!! libs installed". Old GCC 3.X dists are unfortunately not supported (and never will be)...
0

#15 User is offline   CGA 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 10-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Milan, Italy
  • Interests:Linux, IT, Bier, Friends, Musik

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:18 PM

+1 on Renoise64

i know that it's something expensive in term of code/time/energies/CPU/whatever but i can't wait for it.

renoise r0x0r
0

#16 User is offline   CGA 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 10-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Milan, Italy
  • Interests:Linux, IT, Bier, Friends, Musik

Posted 07 December 2008 - 08:33 PM

does anyone which libs should i install on fedora 10??
there's no such a thing like ia32-libs and they told me that fedora supports a multilib system but i won't install what i don't really need. the answer could go in the FAQs too tough.

please thanks
0

#17 User is offline   CGA 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 10-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Milan, Italy
  • Interests:Linux, IT, Bier, Friends, Musik

  Posted 24 December 2008 - 11:56 PM

View PostCGA, on Dec 7 2008, 07:33 PM, said:

does anyone which libs should i install on fedora 10??


here's the needed command to install the needed libraries for fedora 10 64 bit:

yum install glibc.i686 libstdc++.i386 alsa-lib.i386 libX11-1.1.4-6.fc10.i386

renoise rocks.

/me can't wait for a native 64 bit version :dribble:
0

#18 User is offline   meloday 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 28-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:rocky mountains

Posted 19 June 2009 - 08:05 AM

hey guys. i just recieved my dell inspiron mini 10. it doesn't have a CD/DVD drive. am i able to install linux from an external cd drive, or an external hard/flash drive?

thanks!
0

#19 Guest_Bantai_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 19 June 2009 - 09:14 AM

http://www.pendrivelinux.com/usb-ubuntu-ne...-remix-install/

http://moblin.org/

#20 User is offline   meloday 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 28-June 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:rocky mountains

Posted 22 June 2009 - 06:12 PM

thanks bantai!
0

#21 User is offline   rolfi 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 22-April 10

Posted 22 April 2010 - 12:56 PM

+1 on Renoise64 here too

i know many people who would like to buy renoise for linux in 64 bit - but ONLY in 64 bit version (me included)

is there any chance this could be released this year?

thanks a lot for considering!
0

#22 User is offline   Rob Scott 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 01-November 04

Posted 03 May 2010 - 09:55 AM

View Postrolfi, on 22 April 2010 - 12:56 PM, said:

+1 on Renoise64 here too

i know many people who would like to buy renoise for linux in 64 bit - but ONLY in 64 bit version (me included)

is there any chance this could be released this year?

thanks a lot for considering!


I'd be much more likely to consider renewing my license if there was a 64bit version for Linux. :) I'm currently struggling with 2.0.1 in Ubuntu 10.04 in that I can't get it to output any audio whatsoever, from Alsa or Jack. It connects to Jack, it increases the DSP load, but it doesn't make a peep. If I shut down Jack and pulseaudio and everything and use Alsa it does the same thing, no sound, but no errors. Very annoying. I'm sure it's probably just some sort of 32bit/64bit/linux being a general bitch snafu... I have the ia32-libs package installed, and audio works through other apps just fine. but anyone have renoise working on 10.04 AMD64 (preempt kernel.. now that I think about it maybe that's my problem..?) (and no I don't have anything muted ;)
0

#23 User is offline   It-Alien 

  • Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 9578
  • Joined: 09-October 02
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 03 May 2010 - 10:13 AM

I'm using Linux Mint 8 64-bit (based on Ubuntu 9.10) on an x86-64 architecture and didn't have any problem once I have installed liba32 package. I am using standard kernel.

you should post on the help&support section about this
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: "Mind Layers" (MP3 - XRNS (RNS3.0+)) (Dark Ambient - 4'04")


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

Posted Image

Listen on Soundcloud.com ("Mind Layers", 4'04" Dark Ambient)
0

#24 User is offline   cthubik 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 08-February 09

Posted 22 May 2010 - 11:38 PM

I'd also like to see a 64bit version. Using 32bit jack is the only way right now and it sucks having to track down 32bit versions versions of any other audio app I want to connect. Love your work, It-Alien, but no 64bit for linux is limiting, I haven't ever been able to use the line in device for example.
0

#25 User is offline   lowkey 

  • Super Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 124
  • Joined: 17-April 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 03 May 2011 - 08:38 PM

+1 for Renoise 64 bit.

Im building a new computer and Id like to put as much ram as possible in (especially now that Renoise is the best replacement for a sampler for me).

A 16gb sampler? Yes please :D
cpu Asus G75v, Intel i7-3610QM
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic