Renoise Forums: Using Renoise For Amiga Demos - Renoise Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Using Renoise For Amiga Demos format questions

#1 User is offline   dem 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 22-November 11

Posted 12 April 2012 - 02:27 PM

Hi,

As a long time amiga fan and user, I'm currently investigating amiga demoscene, I'd like to make music for it, but it appears that the standard for amiga (at least) demos is the .DBM format, aka Digibooster, and P61 format.

Since I'm a registred (and happy) Renoise user, I don't want (until it's necessary) to buy another music software licence (in that case, future Morphos digibooster 3), and I'd prefer to use Renoise for my work.

Is there a way to use Renoise for my needs ?



Thanks !
0

#2 User is offline   Djeroek 

  • Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 5992
  • Joined: 10-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 12 April 2012 - 03:41 PM

write a .xrns to .dbm conversion script? Look at this tool for inspiration? http://www.renoise.com/tools/xrns2xmod
0

#3 User is offline   dem 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 22-November 11

Posted 13 April 2012 - 09:22 AM

I don't know how to script, but I'll see if I can use these converted .mod modules.


Thank you !
0

#4 User is offline   Suva 

  • Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 2627
  • Joined: 12-May 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tallinn, Estonia

Posted 13 April 2012 - 10:14 AM

I wouldn't expect much unless you use PCM. Renoise is very different from Digibooster and conversion would remove all the fancy stuff like DSP effects and even many of the pattern effects and instrument parameters.
0

#5 User is offline   dem 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 22-November 11

Posted 14 April 2012 - 09:55 PM

I know. THe best way should be to use a mp3 or whatever. So I'd be able to use any tracker for my work. The thing is that I want to use a demomaking tool, really great and easy (language looks like html and xml, called "karate fighter") wich is only compatible with p61 (on classic amigas) and DMB (digibooster, compatible with PPC amigas with aftermarket sound cards).


I guess the 2 only ways are 1) buy a digibooster licence 2) beg Karate creator to introduce a pcm/mp3 player in his software :lol:

This post has been edited by dem: 14 April 2012 - 10:02 PM

0

#6 User is offline   dem 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 22-November 11

Posted 15 April 2012 - 10:23 AM

I guess I finally found a workaround. I'll build a PC dedicated to UAE emulation, to simulate a "big" classic amiga (68060, rtg graphics). Then, I'll be able to use .p61 modules (compressed .mod), so I'll be able to build music "skeleton" on Renoise, export it in .mod, and then, reinject it on the "fake" classic amiga.

This post has been edited by dem: 15 April 2012 - 10:23 AM

0

#7 User is offline   dem 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 22-November 11

Posted 15 April 2012 - 11:05 PM

Last update, my workaround is not that great finally. :(

ANy help for a renoise > DBM convert tool will be appreciated (dreaming is free after all :lol: ) !
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic