Renoise Forums: How Do I Use Tools? - Renoise Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How Do I Use Tools?

#1 User is offline   XG2003 

  • Chief Above Chief Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: 01-March 03

Posted 05 May 2012 - 05:33 PM

Hi, I've just installed my first Renoise tool, com.vvoois.MidiManagementConsole_Rns280_V1.1.xrnx, but I have no idea how to actually get to it to use it. I looked in the 'Tools' section of the Renoise site, it doesn't tell you how to access a tool. I looked in this forum - there is no sticky that tells you how you use it. Can we have a simple explanation on the Tools section of the site? I'm pretty experienced with computers, but it isn't obvious to me, so probably won't be obvious to many other people.
0

#2 User is offline   dblue 

  • Renoise Dev
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admins
  • Posts: 4787
  • Joined: 01-August 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 05 May 2012 - 05:44 PM

It can indeed be a bit weird if a tool does not make it clear where you can access it.

In the case of this tool by vV you can check the discussion thread here:
http://forum.renoise...gement-console/

In that thread you can see the following text:

vV's tool thread said:

Feature lists in the instrument list context menu.
You can assign a keyboard activation shortcut to it in the Global -> tools -> Midi Management Console


So, you can either right-click in the instrument list to access the tool, or you can assign your own keyboard shortcut.
0

#3 User is offline   XG2003 

  • Chief Above Chief Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: 01-March 03

Posted 05 May 2012 - 06:23 PM

View Postdblue, on 05 May 2012 - 05:44 PM, said:

It can indeed be a bit weird if a tool does not make it clear where you can access it.

In the case of this tool by vV you can check the discussion thread here:
http://forum.renoise...gement-console/

In that thread you can see the following text:


So, you can either right-click in the instrument list to access the tool, or you can assign your own keyboard shortcut.


Thanks Dblue! I thought there would be something in the 'Tools' pulldown menu, I thought you'd just double click on it in there.
0

#4 User is offline   kazakore 

  • Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 6139
  • Joined: 06-October 05
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 May 2012 - 06:39 PM

It is up to the Tool developer how you access and use it so there is no guide which can be written.

It would be nice if every Tool considered completed enough considered completed enough to add to the main Tools page had a Manual or Help page, which could be accessed through the Tools menu and at a minimum would tell you how the tool works/how to access it but nothing like this has been enforced.
0

#5 User is offline   Cas 

  • Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 1703
  • Joined: 28-November 11
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 May 2012 - 07:52 PM

I think in best case, every tool has a short description of "where it's at" in the Tool description part (Tools -> Browse... -> bottom of window)
music+sounds: SoundCloud BandCamp
tutorials: Beat Creators, Overtune vimeo set, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog (specifically, Overtune and AwesomeSawce), fork@git, thread@forum - donate@paypal (flattr)
drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04

___________
"I don't do gear lists cause I have only my skills to make people jealous about." -Albert Einstein
0

#6 User is offline   vV 

  • God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 16783
  • Joined: 24-October 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 05 May 2012 - 09:02 PM

View Postkazakore, on 05 May 2012 - 06:39 PM, said:

It is up to the Tool developer how you access and use it so there is no guide which can be written.

No requirement you mean i guess... But i notice that the PDF documentation is lacking some essential info. It should ofcourse has been in there that a right-click on any instrument offers the option to start the midi management console.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic