Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Suggestion: Cut all devices only for a single 'sub-set'


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Dr. Drips

Dr. Drips

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen, the Netherlands

Posted 22 December 2013 - 13:39

by example:
In a modulation set you made a very complex modulation chain for panning.
you also made some modulation for the volume but want to get rid of it without affecting your panning chain.

Current situation is: you have to close all the modulation devices one by one of your volume chain.

maybe better situation: option to remove only 'sub-set' like in this case, the volume chain in one click.
  • Djeroek and dblue like this
"It's nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice"

CPU:Intel Core i5 3570K, OS:Windows 7 (64 bit), mem:16 GB, video:NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 DCII 2GB
CPU:Intel Atom Z3740, OS:Windows 8.1 (32 bit), mem:2 GB

Soundcard: Focusrite Scarlett 2I2

#2 delt

delt

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montréal, Canada

Posted 22 December 2013 - 16:06

...kind of like effect grouping, en/disabling an entire group?

You can kind of do that with "doofer" devices, if i understand correctly.
"One man's dream" orig. composed by Yanni
http://soundcloud.com/delt01/one-mans-dream-orig-composed

#3 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5586 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 22 December 2013 - 16:18

You can currently right-click in the Volume device chain area, then choose Device Chain > Delete from the context menu. (Or of course use the equivalent keyboard shortcut)

When right-clicking the Vol/Pan/Ptc/Cut/Res indicators to open the context menu, you get options such as "Delete Set" and "Delete All Devices", but they currently affect all modulations. So I agree that would be nice if the context menu also had options for the particular set you selected, such as "Delete All Volume Devices", and so on.

#4 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 22 December 2013 - 16:20

...kind of like effect grouping, en/disabling an entire group?


I think he means removing a sub-chain of a modulation set rather than the whole set. Currently all the "delete DSP chain" options include the whole modulation set where this is not handy when you only want to remove just the volume chain and not e.g. the panning and pitch chain.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#5 Dr. Drips

Dr. Drips

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen, the Netherlands

Posted 22 December 2013 - 16:26

I think he means removing a sub-chain of a modulation set rather than the whole set. Currently all the "delete DSP chain" options include the whole modulation set where this is not handy when you only want to remove just the volume chain and not e.g. the panning and pitch chain.

that's correct
"It's nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice"

CPU:Intel Core i5 3570K, OS:Windows 7 (64 bit), mem:16 GB, video:NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 DCII 2GB
CPU:Intel Atom Z3740, OS:Windows 8.1 (32 bit), mem:2 GB

Soundcard: Focusrite Scarlett 2I2