Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Full Page Browser?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 muckleby

muckleby

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 22 December 2013 - 14:47

In 2.8 your could expand the browser to go fill the screen and tab between directories and their files.
I bloody loved that browser!

In 3 it appears the 'default' browser view has been expanded but this old 'full' view is gone.
Am I missing something?
  • Djeroek and lowkey like this

#2 muckleby

muckleby

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 23 December 2013 - 14:22

Bump!

#3 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 24 December 2013 - 00:04

Yes the old view has been replaced with a new layout.
I don't think the old version will be coming back / possible to recreate.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#4 muckleby

muckleby

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 24 December 2013 - 00:40

Yes the old view has been replaced with a new layout.
I don't think the old version will be coming back / possible to recreate.


thanks for the heads up.

i gotta say, there's some great new features in 3.0 but it's a little frustrating that an excellent existing one has taken a hit for no real good reason.
will probably leave the update for 'special occasions' when i want to get creating with the phrase editor tbh.
i'll miss the FX chains though!

#5 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 24 December 2013 - 01:27

thanks for the heads up.

i gotta say, there's some great new features in 3.0 but it's a little frustrating that an excellent existing one has taken a hit for no real good reason.


You can still make the sample frame smaller and the diskbrowser wider if you desire. Also the diskbrowser grows along with the Window size of Renoise.
Its not a that big loss compared to the former situation. The only thing that you don't have is the instant switch of the button.
The dragged frame sizes are unfortunately not stored along with the GUI preset save either, now that would at least compromise the loss a bit better.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#6 B-complex

B-complex

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 312 posts

Posted 24 December 2013 - 01:50

You can still make the sample frame smaller and the diskbrowser wider if you desire. Also the diskbrowser grows along with the Window size of Renoise.
Its not a that big loss compared to the former situation. The only thing that you don't have is the instant switch of the button.
The dragged frame sizes are unfortunately not stored along with the GUI preset save either, now that would at least compromise the loss a bit better.


the thing I miss now, is that you don't have "details" anymore do you ? I often needed to sort my files by date to find out which one is recent, now it's only filenames, that's not kind of annoying

#7 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests:// Free Energy // Cymatics // Sound visualization // Sustainable energy production // Apple devices // Tesla Motors //

Posted 24 December 2013 - 02:30

You can still make the sample frame smaller and the diskbrowser wider if you desire. Also the diskbrowser grows along with the Window size of Renoise.
Its not a that big loss compared to the former situation. The only thing that you don't have is the instant switch of the button.
The dragged frame sizes are unfortunately not stored along with the GUI preset save either, now that would at least compromise the loss a bit better.


is there some way to specify which frames are larger and which smaller, via LUA? cos surely that would help in doing nice resizes. (they'd be hardcoded, of course, but still)

| lackluster Website | lackluster on bandcamp | lackluster on facebooklackluster on soundcloud | esaruoho on twitter |

esaruoho@gmail.comesaruoho on reddit | esaruoho on ello | 

| OS X 10.11 El Capitan | Mac Book Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo / 8GB 1067 MHz DDR3 |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;)

#8 delt

delt

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montréal, Canada

Posted 24 December 2013 - 02:43

The only thing that you don't have is the instant switch of the button.


...until it gets scripted (hopefully possible)
"One man's dream" orig. composed by Yanni
http://soundcloud.com/delt01/one-mans-dream-orig-composed

#9 muckleby

muckleby

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:44

yeah the half screen size isn't too bad (not as good as full screen though!)

the main thing though is the old dual window arrangement
folders on the left, files on the right

you could dive in an out really fast tabbing between the two, best design i've seen tbh.

you're right it's not a massive deal but am sad to see it go.

#10 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:59

The old browser was good. In the new version, I like that if you expand it, both file-size & dates are shown at the same time. I wish that like in windows explorer, you can click a 'type', 'size' or 'last changed' above the data to reshuffle them... instead of the right mouse click windows we have to resort to now.

#11 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 24 December 2013 - 12:20

the thing I miss now, is that you don't have "details" anymore do you ? I often needed to sort my files by date to find out which one is recent, now it's only filenames, that's not kind of annoying


The dates and file-sizes are shown, but this heavily depend on the width and height of the main window and if there is a vertical scrollbar visible.
If everything is large enough, you can make it show these details, but if your desktop resolution won't go beyond a specific size, you won't be able to see this info unfortunately...
Posted Image
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#12 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 24 December 2013 - 12:29

is there some way to specify which frames are larger and which smaller, via LUA? cos surely that would help in doing nice resizes. (they'd be hardcoded, of course, but still)


Nopes, the only frame objects that you can use is selection or checking if they are visible. But you are not capable of changing the layout structure of the window.
And as said:you can't store the frame positions in presets either, so hacking around it by modifying the config.xml won't do any good either.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual