Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Give us loop fine editor back


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 It-Alien

It-Alien

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 22 December 2013 - 15:03

as promised during alpha stage, I will never surrender to the disappearance of sample editor's loop fine editor, as it is an useful addition to the sample tools and I see no reason for it to disappear.
  • DJ TerraByte, Kizzume, Conner_Bw and 22 others like this
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: Lavender Town Syndrome (11'33", Psychedelic Beast)


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

RTFM.gif

("Lavender Town Syndrome, 11'33" Psychedelic Beast)

#2 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7055 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 22 December 2013 - 15:04

+1 IT-Alien for president.
  • radian likes this

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : One million clicks! »


#3 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 22 December 2013 - 15:49

I still support for the perfection of the seemless auto-looper as an alternative.
  • esaruoho, zuo, Cas and 1 other like this
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#4 a773

a773

    Big Super Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark

Posted 22 December 2013 - 17:56

I still support for the perfection of the seemless auto-looper as an alternative.


+1000 for the "loop fine editor"!

Regarding x-fade loop: start by making it work, I can't believe I'm the only one that thinks its broken and useless as is:

http://forum.renoise...in-xfade-loops/

#5 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 22 December 2013 - 21:49

+1


...also...where is the scissor, cutting icon in the sample editor? I do a lot of sample prep work, making sample selections and shaving bits off using the scissor with the mouse.

I know ctrl+x works as well, but when mousing around in the sample editor the icon worked fine, I guess part of my workflow.
  • xrxs likes this

#6 KURTZ

KURTZ

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poitiers (France)
  • Interests:bunnies

Posted 22 December 2013 - 23:47

I want my loop fine editor back Posted Image

Edited by KURTZ, 22 December 2013 - 23:47.

.
KURTZ

 

¤ cpu intel core i5 3.20Ghz | ram 8gb | nvidia geforce gtx 970 | hd1.2 tb | os win10 64bits | midi maudio oxygen 49 master keyboard
¤ kurtz/lapiNIC's french blog
¤ renoise france - communauté francophone des utilisateurs de renoise

 


#7 EatMe

EatMe

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, The Netherlands
  • Interests:Fuße wirklich richtig schmutzig machen, mit kräftig anlegen von, logischerweise, ein Schlammpfütze.

Posted 23 December 2013 - 00:44

+1 for the loop fine editor back to the DC
* website: eatme.pro
* discography: eatme.pro/music
* all Renoise projectseatme.pro/music/projects
* soundcloud: /eatme 
* some samples: this free breakbeat and another free breakbeat 
* more infoeatme.pro/about - please mention www.eatme.pro with a broadcast or share

+1

#8 noby

noby

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Sound

Posted 23 December 2013 - 00:47

I don't think I ever used it myself and just by the name of it had no idea what it was, but I can definitely see its usefulness and don't see any reason for its removal, hence ++this-suggestion.

#9 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 December 2013 - 00:50

There is new function that makes very fast fade in and fadeout so i think it is less needed than ever...

#10 cupcake

cupcake

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 26 December 2013 - 14:32

+ 1, bring it back.




There is new function that makes very fast fade in and fadeout so i think it is less needed than ever...



Fading the sample edges is unnecessary and not at all the same thing.

Edited by cupcake, 26 December 2013 - 14:33.

  • It-Alien likes this

#11 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 26 December 2013 - 16:15

Fading the sample edges is unnecessary and not at all the same thing.

Besides, end-fading doesn't work (out well) for looped samples.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#12 Guest_crytek_*

Guest_crytek_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 December 2013 - 16:37

Besides, end-fading doesn't work (out well) for looped samples.


Sure it does. Either you are using the wrong loop points, haven't faded the start of the loop point. But it does work.

#13 pvcf

pvcf

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 284 posts

Posted 26 December 2013 - 16:52

+1001 for the "loop fine editor"!

#14 migloJE

migloJE

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 December 2013 - 17:15

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

#15 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests:// Free Energy // Cymatics // Sound visualization // Sustainable energy production // Apple devices // Tesla Motors //

Posted 26 December 2013 - 18:12

come back, features!
  • Djeroek likes this

| lackluster Website | lackluster on bandcamp | lackluster on facebooklackluster on soundcloud | esaruoho on twitter |

esaruoho@gmail.comesaruoho on reddit | esaruoho on ello | 

| OS X 10.11 El Capitan | Mac Book Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo / 8GB 1067 MHz DDR3 |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;)

#16 migloJE

migloJE

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 December 2013 - 19:33

as well please return buttons for paste mixpaste and trimm!!!!
  • Kizzume and Djeroek like this

#17 D-tracker

D-tracker

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 December 2013 - 21:06

+1

#18 tkc

tkc

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 December 2013 - 23:11

I still support for the perfection of the seemless auto-looper as an alternative.


To what extent can this be perfected, realistically?

The fine editor has been invaluable for me in the past - unless I can be convinced of a viable and practical alternative, another +1 here.

cpu Intel Core 2 Duo 2.5GHz ram 4GB DDR2 os Windows 7
audio M-Audio L1010 mon KRK Rokit RP5 G2 (x2) head AKG K 240 MKII

#19 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 26 December 2013 - 23:47

To what extent can this be perfected, realistically?

At least to a level that is a lot better than it currently is.
One user wanted to make a point of proof by providing a simple python script that does a better job than the one in the Render Plugin to Instrument does.
I'm not want to point towards that example specifically, but just mention that the current method is just a rough processing method that totally misses out on various type of samples

The fine editor has been invaluable for me in the past - unless I can be convinced of a viable and practical alternative, another +1 here.


I've seen some granular phrase snippets passing around, i haven't looked into those in detail, but i suspect they mangle with the sample offset commands which is a trick that brings out a pretty good "seemless loop" experience without actually having the sample looped seemlessly....
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#20 vincentvc

vincentvc

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 965 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ociya Syndor

Posted 26 December 2013 - 23:50

buy a mouse with a scroll-wheel? *snarky comment
  • B00MER likes this
bla

#21 Audio Nail

Audio Nail

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere not safe.

Posted 05 January 2014 - 20:48

+1

I really miss the fine editor.

#22 thematrixhasyou

thematrixhasyou

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 05 January 2014 - 21:58

Absolutely bad idea to remove it, very important function.
Get it back!

Edited by failure13, 05 January 2014 - 21:58.

  • Kizzume and Djeroek like this

#23 drut_ums@yahoo.com

drut_ums@yahoo.com

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
  • Interests:music, knives, electronics, alternative medicine(a little), conspiracy theories, mind.

Posted 07 January 2014 - 12:14

My life lost it's meaning without it lol


#24 Jealousy

Jealousy

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Location:bad doberan GER
  • Interests:hard electronic music, friends, tracking

Posted 07 January 2014 - 15:26

+ for fine editor!
and where is the function that sets loop start and end points to the currently selected section in the sample?
  • Kizzume likes this

www.soundcloud.com/shpjealousy

www.mixcloud.com/j_lowcity

www.schlachthof-productions.de


#25 Audio Nail

Audio Nail

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere not safe.

Posted 14 January 2014 - 13:48

bump,

I really miss this much used feature.

atm I'm using renoise 3.0b for everything except loop finetuning.
kind of annoying to not be able to smooth out my loops.

Loop finetune editor for president! :drummer: