Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

INSTR: Volume Velocity Tracker: Sensitivity Curve


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 EatMe

EatMe

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, The Netherlands
  • Interests:Fuße wirklich richtig schmutzig machen, mit kräftig anlegen von, logischerweise, ein Schlammpfütze.

Posted 23 December 2013 - 23:31

update:

This would solve my problem also:

A sensitivity curve in the Volume Velocity Tracker in the Instrument Editor / Modulation

Renoise_Velocity_Curve.JPG

The curve is selectable to divide the input velocity differently over the range.



Haio taktik I love you,

What I'm missing as feature in the new instrument editor:


the option to set a velocity sensitivity curve per sample (per layer)

So that you can make instruments that gradually introduce each sample with velocity differently raising volume per sample via the selected or maybe even edited curve.

so that e.g. the velocity/volume sensitivity is very low curved to equally divided over the range to very high curved;
"fixed velocity" should still be possible by turning off the VEL->VOL button per sample.

5 curves (like in the Hydra for parameters) for velocity sensitivity would already allow more complex layering of sounds.

Edited by EatMe, 26 December 2013 - 17:45.

* website: eatme.pro
* discography: eatme.pro/music
* all Renoise projectseatme.pro/music/projects
* soundcloud: /eatme 
* some samples: this free breakbeat and another free breakbeat 
* more infoeatme.pro/about - please mention www.eatme.pro with a broadcast or share

+1

#2 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 24 December 2013 - 01:11

You can assign modulation sets or effect chains per sample.
Add a couple of sets. define them then click the sample(s) you want it to apply and then click the radio button in front of the set that you want to apply to it /them.

If that is not what you meant, then i need a different perspective of the question...
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#3 EatMe

EatMe

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, The Netherlands
  • Interests:Fuße wirklich richtig schmutzig machen, mit kräftig anlegen von, logischerweise, ein Schlammpfütze.

Posted 24 December 2013 - 01:26

You can assign modulation sets or effect chains per sample.
Add a couple of sets. define them then click the sample(s) you want it to apply and then click the radio button in front of the set that you want to apply to it /them.

If that is not what you meant, then i need a different perspective of the question...


What I mean is:

While layering, each sample should respond differently in volume to the velocity.
This is achieved with a velocity / volume sensitivity curve.

For example:

Sample 1 has a regular velocity curve ( / ) and thus equally divided velocity/volume levels

at v00, the level is -100
at v20, the level is -75
at v40, the level is -50
at v60, the level is -25
at v80, the level is -0

Sample 2 has a low velocity sensitivity curve; so the volume is lower on velocities below v80

at v00, the level is -100
at v20, the level is -90
at v40, the level is -80
at v60, the level is -60
at v80, the level is -0

Sample 3 has a high velocity sensitivity curve; so the volume is higher on velocities above v00

at v00, the level is -100
at v20, the level is -40
at v40, the level is -20
at v60, the level is -10
at v80, the level is -0

------------------------------------

this all could be represented with curves or an editable curve.
* website: eatme.pro
* discography: eatme.pro/music
* all Renoise projectseatme.pro/music/projects
* soundcloud: /eatme 
* some samples: this free breakbeat and another free breakbeat 
* more infoeatme.pro/about - please mention www.eatme.pro with a broadcast or share

+1

#4 EatMe

EatMe

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, The Netherlands
  • Interests:Fuße wirklich richtig schmutzig machen, mit kräftig anlegen von, logischerweise, ein Schlammpfütze.

Posted 24 December 2013 - 01:35

Note: This should be part of the Keyzones editor in the instrument editor
* website: eatme.pro
* discography: eatme.pro/music
* all Renoise projectseatme.pro/music/projects
* soundcloud: /eatme 
* some samples: this free breakbeat and another free breakbeat 
* more infoeatme.pro/about - please mention www.eatme.pro with a broadcast or share

+1

#5 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 24 December 2013 - 01:49

I'm not sure if you are getting me or maybe i am not getting you...

I would translate your idea like this:
Sample 1 has a regular velocity curve ( / ) and thus equally divided velocity/volume levels

at v00, the level is -100
at v20, the level is -75
at v40, the level is -50
at v60, the level is -25
at v80, the level is -0

[Set: set 01] [Vol]
[+][Velocity tracking device 1] min slider =0 and max slider =100 [*] [Velocity tracking device 2] min slider =0 and max slider =25

Sample 2 has a low velocity sensitivity curve; so the volume is lower on velocities below v80
[Set: set 02] [Vol]
[+][device x] param1=value1, param2=value 2 [*]  [device y] param1=value1, param2=value 2


at v00, the level is -100
at v20, the level is -90
at v40, the level is -80
at v60, the level is -60
at v80, the level is -0

Sample 3 has a high velocity sensitivity curve; so the volume is higher on velocities above v00
[Set: set 03] [Vol]
[+][device x] param1=value1, param2=value 2 [*]  [device y] param1=value1, param2=value 2

at v00, the level is -100
at v20, the level is -40
at v40, the level is -20
at v60, the level is -10
at v80, the level is -0

For sample 2 and 3 i'm not sure how to quickly make up a combination of devices that set up this specific curve for you but in the above description, replace [device x] and [device y] with what you need to provide that curve.

If the figures are too specific, the only way would be simply adding more samples.

Note: This should be part of the Keyzones editor in the instrument editor


I don't think so, every sample = a keyzone.
You won't be able to have unassigned samples inside an instrument anylonger as well as that you cannot assign one sample to multiple keyzones.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#6 EatMe

EatMe

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, The Netherlands
  • Interests:Fuße wirklich richtig schmutzig machen, mit kräftig anlegen von, logischerweise, ein Schlammpfütze.

Posted 24 December 2013 - 19:15

This would solve my problem also:

A sensitivity curve in the Volume Velocity Tracker in the Instrument Editor / Modulation

Renoise_Velocity_Curve.JPG

The curve is selectable to divide the input velocity differently over the range.
  • It-Alien, dblue, Bit_Arts and 1 other like this
* website: eatme.pro
* discography: eatme.pro/music
* all Renoise projectseatme.pro/music/projects
* soundcloud: /eatme 
* some samples: this free breakbeat and another free breakbeat 
* more infoeatme.pro/about - please mention www.eatme.pro with a broadcast or share

+1

#7 EatMe

EatMe

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, The Netherlands
  • Interests:Fuße wirklich richtig schmutzig machen, mit kräftig anlegen von, logischerweise, ein Schlammpfütze.

Posted 06 January 2014 - 20:15

this
  • Hazardous! likes this
* website: eatme.pro
* discography: eatme.pro/music
* all Renoise projectseatme.pro/music/projects
* soundcloud: /eatme 
* some samples: this free breakbeat and another free breakbeat 
* more infoeatme.pro/about - please mention www.eatme.pro with a broadcast or share

+1

#8 EatMe

EatMe

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, The Netherlands
  • Interests:Fuße wirklich richtig schmutzig machen, mit kräftig anlegen von, logischerweise, ein Schlammpfütze.

Posted 14 January 2014 - 19:40

I'm not sure if you are getting me or maybe i am not getting you...


yay! It got implemented!

Edited by EatMe, 14 January 2014 - 19:41.

* website: eatme.pro
* discography: eatme.pro/music
* all Renoise projectseatme.pro/music/projects
* soundcloud: /eatme 
* some samples: this free breakbeat and another free breakbeat 
* more infoeatme.pro/about - please mention www.eatme.pro with a broadcast or share

+1