Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

MIDI routing for arpeggiator VSTs in Rns 3?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 XG2003

XG2003

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 341 posts

Posted 03 January 2014 - 12:14

Hi, I remember a while back asking if it was possible to use Catanya arpeggiator in Renoise 2.8, and being told it wasn't possible within Renoise alone due to the fact it didn't have MIDI routing (or something like that). Has this been fixed in 3.0? I wanted to try out Cthulhu (though what a stupid name to choose):

http://www.xferrecor...roducts/cthulhu
  • Ledger, koppi and Cas like this

#2 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 03 January 2014 - 12:17

Not possible (yet?).

#3 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5571 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 03 January 2014 - 12:18

It's still not possible to route MIDI output from such plugins. Sorry.

We do understand the demand for such a feature, though. This is clearly something that needs to addressed eventually.
  • Djeroek, joule, radian and 2 others like this

#4 XG2003

XG2003

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 341 posts

Posted 03 January 2014 - 12:52

Thanks for the replies, I understand it's possible to somehow use EnergyXT (or maybe other programs) as well as Renoise, to somehow route the MIDI out and then back into Renoise, so that the arpeggiators work?
A built in arpeggiator (not a tool, but part of Renoise) which accepted any MIDI file (like Hypersonic 2 does) as well as having hundreds of patterns built in, would be really nice.

#5 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 03 January 2014 - 14:05

How does the new phrase editor differ from an arpeggiator, looks much more flexible to me?

#6 kolacell

kolacell

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 204 posts

Posted 03 January 2014 - 14:21

Thanks for the replies, I understand it's possible to somehow use EnergyXT (or maybe other programs) as well as Renoise, to somehow route the MIDI out and then back into Renoise, so that the arpeggiators work?
A built in arpeggiator (not a tool, but part of Renoise) which accepted any MIDI file (like Hypersonic 2 does) as well as having hundreds of patterns built in, would be really nice.



look here: shortcut to useful infos!

#7 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 03 January 2014 - 14:28

How does the new phrase editor differ from an arpeggiator, looks much more flexible to me?


It can achieve most of what Cthulhu can do, except you need to input your own chords... Although that and other functionality could probably be implemented in a tool ;)
  • Djeroek likes this

#8 Cas

Cas

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1719 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 January 2014 - 22:59

The diff is that the phrase approach is again very un-live. Which is alright, but many arpeggiators make it a lot of fun to discover patterns by simply hitting chords and pressing hold, then playing with options (see eg RPG8 in reason).

music: SoundCloud drumkits: WizzKit no. 01 (thread), 02 (thread), 03 (thread), 04
tutorials: Beat Creators, Drum Synthesis examples
tools: download@box, info@blog, fork@git, discuss@forum
___________

BCF2000, LP S, MPK, nPad2, nKtrl2, NI KA6, Vortex, SP-404SX

Renoise, NI Reaktor


#9 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 04 January 2014 - 01:44

How does the new phrase editor differ from an arpeggiator, looks much more flexible to me?


You can't do microtonal schemes. You can do this with the pitch envelope ;)
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#10 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 04 January 2014 - 01:56

You can't do microtonal schemes. You can do this with the pitch envelope ;)/>


when manually updating the tool's manifest this works in 3;

http://www.renoise.c...ols/scl-to-xrni

#11 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 04 January 2014 - 10:48

when manually updating the tool's manifest this works in 3;

http://www.renoise.c...ols/scl-to-xrni


Ahh yes, forgot about that one, i guess u can haz everything u desire :)
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual