Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

interface changes


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 weizenkeim

weizenkeim

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:hh

Posted 06 January 2014 - 21:39

hey. I have played around with renoise-3b now every day since it was released and I am really happy with the new functionalities. I also accept, that you had to increase interface complexity for that. But now after 2 weeks of screwing around with the new sampler engine I'd like to suggest thinking about the way the interface changed.

This christmas I went to visit my parents, new Renoise on my laptop. It was lovely. Best christmas present. Played with my new toy, dad (73) gets interested. 'what are you doing?' 'it's a software for composing music. you select instruments and enter notes. looks like excel but is easier to learn and doesn't crash.' 'really? show me!' so I taught him renoise in about an hour. but it was 2.8. Didn't dare to show him the 3 beta, because explaining the placement of those several viewports would have been super confusing

Maybe it is just me. I bought renoise ten years ago and have so completely grown to it, that I just have a hard time to adjust. But especially the sampler window with its different views sliding feels uncomfortable. Like a tablet app crashing the party. Besides wasting space with the bars of unselected options it would be much nicer sticking a little more to the former tab concept.

I don't know if that made any sense, but I made a photoshop of what I mean

Posted Image

the saved space would also excuse the redundancy of buttons below for shorter mouseways.

Second idea, I don't know if I should waste another thread for that, but PLEEEASE
add a button to switch min and max values to all those doofers, hydras and the lot!! I so often want to have just a quick invert out of curiosity

Posted Image

Posted Image
  • Jester, afta8, KURTZ and 3 others like this

#2 afta8

afta8

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 06 January 2014 - 22:24

+1 to quick invert, that would be uber convenient
  • Ullbasunen likes this

#3 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1197 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 06 January 2014 - 22:44

hey. I have played around with renoise-3b now every day since it was released and I am really happy with the new functionalities. I also accept, that you had to increase interface complexity for that. But now after 2 weeks of screwing around with the new sampler engine I'd like to suggest thinking about the way the interface changed.

This christmas I went to visit my parents, new Renoise on my laptop. It was lovely. Best christmas present. Played with my new toy, dad (73) gets interested. 'what are you doing?' 'it's a software for composing music. you select instruments and enter notes. looks like excel but is easier to learn and doesn't crash.' 'really? show me!' so I taught him renoise in about an hour. but it was 2.8. Didn't dare to show him the 3 beta, because explaining the placement of those several viewports would have been super confusing

Maybe it is just me. I bought renoise ten years ago and have so completely grown to it, that I just have a hard time to adjust. But especially the sampler window with its different views sliding feels uncomfortable. Like a tablet app crashing the party. Besides wasting space with the bars of unselected options it would be much nicer sticking a little more to the former tab concept.

I don't know if that made any sense, but I made a photoshop of what I mean

Posted Image

the saved space would also excuse the redundancy of buttons below for shorter mouseways.


This is the nicest/cleanest solution for the Sampler tabs I have seen yet! I would definitely prefer that to the vertical sections that are always there, doing nothing but taking away space.

Also, these tabs would be in the same order as the shortcuts to show them!

Edited by fladd, 06 January 2014 - 22:44.


#4 thematrixhasyou

thematrixhasyou

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 06 January 2014 - 23:16

Definately smarter way than it's now!
I would also suggest to move "Samples" section of sampler near Instruments, so it will be always presented on screen, it's equally important as having instruments and browser all the time.
Well and same goes to the main section of importing VSTi, it's extra-important to have an ability to import VSTi all the time without switching some tabs.
  • caallaki likes this

#5 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 06 January 2014 - 23:22

Someone else proposed the same thing , anyway
+111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111

NOw we need to draw all attention/activity on this forum to this thread

THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#6 KURTZ

KURTZ

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poitiers (France)
  • Interests:bunnies

Posted 06 January 2014 - 23:51

Now we need to draw all attention/activity on this forum to this thread


I don't have the feeling that devs, alpha testers, and moderators have deserted forums these days ; so drawing all the attention activity to this thread is probably not necessary ; moderators often answer in each section of the forums ; and don't answering does't prove they're not reading ; some of them are alpha testers ; taktik himself declared lately to read the forums ; so you have 99% of chances that this thread will be noticed. if forum users are really interested by our interesting ideas they will naturally +1 and participate. The only way to lower the chances for it to be noticed correctly would be to spread the same mockups and ideas in 150 similar threads.

Edited by KURTZ, 06 January 2014 - 23:53.

.
KURTZ

 

¤ cpu intel core i5 3.20Ghz | ram 8gb | nvidia geforce gtx 970 | hd1.2 tb | os win10 64bits | midi maudio oxygen 49 master keyboard
¤ kurtz/lapiNIC's french blog
¤ renoise france - communauté francophone des utilisateurs de renoise

 


#7 thalamus

thalamus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 424 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK
  • Interests:Sound

Posted 07 January 2014 - 03:16

+1

Much nicer

Edited by thalamus, 07 January 2014 - 03:16.


#8 lain

lain

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the internet
  • Interests:renoise

Posted 07 January 2014 - 05:07

+1 for the sampler tabs. Looks so SO much better and cleaner.
Want.
shemusic.org | she facebook | she twitter | she soundcloud

http://soundcloud.com/shemusic/she-atomic

#9 Jester

Jester

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo

Posted 08 January 2014 - 14:38

I am lost!
Despite very few posts here om the forum I have worked with Renoise for may years now. I have grown accustomed to the old layout. Yet, not to the extent that I'm not willing to upgrade or fix things. I understand that Renoise has to develop to survive, but complicating things just compicates things. I just re-upped my licence (2.8.0), but I am not sure if I would today.

What I dont understan is why it has to be COMPLETELY rearranged. I mean, some of these changes are just silly. Why(!!) is it necessary to change icons on buttons? Change locations of tools? The worst one for me is the separation of sampler and envelope-tools. These should be visable and available simultaneously. I use them togeather all the time. That just got worse! NOT better. Another headache is the location and functionality of VSTi's. It makes no sense to me to put them anywhere else than... wait for it... in the browser. *Sigh...* And again the evelope editor should be visable. I know I can open a VSTi and then access the envelope view, but those extra navigation-clicks are just irritating.

Let say I'm working on a melody in regular pattern view and I want to change the preset on a VSTi. In 2.8.1 I can easily locate, open and browse presets without leaving the pattern view. I know I can detach the instrument view, but this just makes it more confusing.

What was so wrong with the tabs??
Simlify!

#10 gentleclockdivider

gentleclockdivider

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:something like a sea or a river...just moving
  • Interests:slacking

Posted 08 January 2014 - 16:55

@jester ..Wait until you notice the other half backed stuff ...

THERE IS NO RELIGION SUPERIOR TO THE TRUTH


THERE IS NO TRUTH SUPERIOR TO THE ONE I CHOOSE

C'EST MIEUX D'ETRE BELLE ET REBELLE


QUE MOCHE ET REMOCHE



RUBIO RABIA

 


#11 lain

lain

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the internet
  • Interests:renoise

Posted 08 January 2014 - 18:20

I am lost!
Despite very few posts here om the forum I have worked with Renoise for may years now. I have grown accustomed to the old layout. Yet, not to the extent that I'm not willing to upgrade or fix things. I understand that Renoise has to develop to survive, but complicating things just compicates things. I just re-upped my licence (2.8.0), but I am not sure if I would today.

What I dont understan is why it has to be COMPLETELY rearranged. I mean, some of these changes are just silly. Why(!!) is it necessary to change icons on buttons? Change locations of tools? The worst one for me is the separation of sampler and envelope-tools. These should be visable and available simultaneously. I use them togeather all the time. That just got worse! NOT better. Another headache is the location and functionality of VSTi's. It makes no sense to me to put them anywhere else than... wait for it... in the browser. *Sigh...* And again the evelope editor should be visable. I know I can open a VSTi and then access the envelope view, but those extra navigation-clicks are just irritating.

Let say I'm working on a melody in regular pattern view and I want to change the preset on a VSTi. In 2.8.1 I can easily locate, open and browse presets without leaving the pattern view. I know I can detach the instrument view, but this just makes it more confusing.

What was so wrong with the tabs??
Simlify!


Very true indeed.
The placement of some buttons are so spread out it's not even funny. Just a simple volume change in a VSTi is a bother now.
shemusic.org | she facebook | she twitter | she soundcloud

http://soundcloud.com/shemusic/she-atomic

#12 Jester

Jester

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oslo

Posted 08 January 2014 - 21:57

@gentleclockdivider: Huh??

#13 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1197 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 08 January 2014 - 22:45

@gentleclockdivider: Huh??


http://forum.renoise...lation-concept/

http://forum.renoise...d-to-one-track/

http://forum.renoise...42-mute-groups/