Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Advanced Edit Resize


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Syflom

Syflom

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 02 March 2014 - 16:00

Shrink and expand is fantastic but let's be honest it's a tad limited. I believe the addition of a dedicated resize function to advanced edit would be most welcome.

Here's a quick mockup of what the new interface might look like.
renoise resize overhaul.png

This would work really well in conjunction with the ability in advanced editor to choose resizing of selection / track / pattern etc.
What are your thoughts on how it could look/function?

Edited by Syflom, 19 March 2014 - 14:39.

In the beginning was the Word
 My XRNX tools: Loop Block Size, Write BPM, Sustain Instrument
Renoise my suggestions: sample pause command, continually paste within selection, advanced edit resize
OS: Windows and OS X


#2 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 02 March 2014 - 16:18

What are your thoughts?


Comes close?
http://forum.renoise...attern-resizer/
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#3 Syflom

Syflom

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 02 March 2014 - 16:33

Yeah dblue's tool does help vV, I got credit for the idea Posted Image but I prefer built in functions.
My idea here is more flexible because it works with different selections plus it'd be more stable as a native feature.

I'm not a big fan of offloading functionality into 3rd party tools that have to be found especially when they would be very welcomed as standard features and are such in comparable software.

Edited by Syflom, 02 March 2014 - 16:41.

In the beginning was the Word
 My XRNX tools: Loop Block Size, Write BPM, Sustain Instrument
Renoise my suggestions: sample pause command, continually paste within selection, advanced edit resize
OS: Windows and OS X


#4 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 02 March 2014 - 16:57

especially when they would be very welcomed as standard features and are such in comparable software.


I agree with that if it is also the case. (And i definitely agree dBlue should really put his good stuf on the general tools page instead of letting them get lost in the tools forum :P)
But the forest of native desires is usually so dense that it can get hard sometimes to distinguish a generic desire from a personal one.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#5 Syflom

Syflom

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 02 March 2014 - 23:31

Yep it's in Live, Logic Pro, Cubase etc. and tends to work the same way in all of them.

Here's what Ableton calls MDI Note Stretch.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j26dcV10-dM

https://www.ableton....and-velocities/
Section 10.4.9 MIDI Note Stretch

Edited by Syflom, 09 March 2014 - 12:35.

  • Djeroek likes this

In the beginning was the Word
 My XRNX tools: Loop Block Size, Write BPM, Sustain Instrument
Renoise my suggestions: sample pause command, continually paste within selection, advanced edit resize
OS: Windows and OS X