Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 6 votes

Play a selection of a sample in any note... instantly!

keyjazz samplepitch workflow

  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

Poll: Keyjazz on sample selection... (47 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you like my feature request... or...

  1. Voted Hell yeah, I want keyjazz on sampleselection too! (41 votes [83.67%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 83.67%

  2. Keyjazz? what's a keyjazz? I dont like jazz :/ (4 votes [8.16%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 8.16%

  3. I do not see the use of this feature... (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  4. 1 pitch is good enough for me. Also smacking enter is good enough. (2 votes [4.08%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 4.08%

  5. I like to put effort in the same result : crop/trim sample and undo, again&again (1 votes [2.04%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 2.04%

  6. its confusing me :( (1 votes [2.04%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 2.04%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 15 March 2014 - 01:15

[EDIT 20-10-2014]

Sooo I overuse the word keyjazz, fine :-)

Let's edit and revamp the post so it's more clear.

 

I have edited my post, not only to bump, but to clarify the easy change that would make my day (and longer):
Toggle the ability to play a part of a sample or to play the whole sample in the selected pitch.
Better yet; if there is any selection in the sample editor, play that - else play the whole thing (in of course the pitch we want).
So if there is no selection, or everything is selected, play all.

now on to the original and still pretty sturdy post that you can hold on to:
===========================

Easy to develop (dunno if its that easy ^.^) i.e. change in the code, say 1 line:

-=> Play notes on the selection in the sample editor, not the whole sample. <=-

I would pay for this if needed.
Why is this so important?

Live performance : you can playback any soundbite in any pitch with a visual selection in 1 click.
Find new sounds by quickly "testing" new parts of the sample as a potential instrument.
Skip cut / trim to new sample, first "preview" it by jamming in notes.

I am sorry if this is a crosspost, but I want to be heared as a die-hard Renoise fan!
Pretty please? smile.gif/> I am here since 1.27 or so biggrin.gif/> (I even saved the old splash screen years ago <sigh>).

Attached Images

  • keyjazz-sampleselection.jpg

Edited by DJ TerraByte, 10 November 2014 - 20:35.

  • Denim, keith303, Conner_Bw and 16 others like this
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#2 delt

delt

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montréal, Canada

Posted 15 March 2014 - 05:10

+1 especially for the yellow glow effect :lol:

jk, this would be indeed a useful feature.
  • DJ TerraByte, Ledger, Syflom and 1 other like this
"One man's dream" orig. composed by Yanni
http://soundcloud.com/delt01/one-mans-dream-orig-composed

#3 capitán kazoo

capitán kazoo

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:vienna

Posted 15 March 2014 - 08:50

i like this idea. +1
  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#4 dfast

dfast

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Helsinki, Finland

Posted 15 March 2014 - 10:31

I'd like this to function by just clicking on the part of the sample from where you want to keyjazz, shouldn't be necessary to select a part of it. But then again by selecting a part of a sample, the keyjazzing could stop when the selected part ends even if there's more of the sample coming after it.

So basically, A HUGE +1! I've actually missed this kinda feature from the very beginning, but until now I've never even given the possibility of this happening a thought.

YES!
  • DJ TerraByte likes this

dfastmusic.net - the web
Buy the latest as a digital download: dfast.bandcamp.com
Sampler of the latest album (funk/disco/boogie):

D Fast - Followers of Disco topic @ renoiz


#5 florian

florian

    Big Super GrandMasta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 708 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY USA
  • Interests:sampling, drums, bikes, video... .... cats.

Posted 15 March 2014 - 14:20

Nice one!
  • DJ TerraByte likes this
-----
black
skwrl
-----

#6 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 16 March 2014 - 22:20

Oh wow :D I really feel the vibe in here B) keep the +1's flowing. We need: SELECT, JAM, ENJOY, REPEAT :D

p.s. if you want to "preview" this potential feature: just press CTRL+T when something is selected.
Then keyjazz away, and when done, CTRL+Z.
Until the respected hardworking dev's have a minute or 3 to look at my code-change suggestion, this is the only way (and the "fastest").

Edited by DJ TerraByte, 16 March 2014 - 22:24.

Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#7 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 16 March 2014 - 22:27

Easy to develop i.e. change in the code, said in 1 line:


The idea is definitely cool, but i highly doubt this assumption.
I suspect the play routine is set to play keyzones and underneath that:the samples attached to it.
But perhaps it is easy to allow the virtual keyboard in the sample area to play the selection of the sample in the pitch of the clicked key.
  • DJ TerraByte likes this
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#8 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 16 March 2014 - 22:38

The idea is definitely cool, but i highly doubt this assumption.
I suspect the play routine is set to play keyzones and underneath that:the samples attached to it.
But perhaps it is easy to allow the virtual keyboard in the sample area to play the selection of the sample in the pitch of the clicked key.

That would be my "fix" as well.
The easy to develop is more based on the potential invisible "macro" that happens: trimming the selection as a temporary sample in memory, and change it by changing sample-selection.
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#9 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 960 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 March 2014 - 10:36

Amazing...
There is already similar idea with sample properities device (customizable sample start, sample end, loop start etc.)
But this look much easier to develop for 3.0 ;)
  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#10 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 22 May 2014 - 23:12

just a bump that I still want to put money on this feature, hell I want it for years (go search my posts on the forum - it's all that has been missing from the pretty perfect Renoise) :yeah:
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#11 loimi

loimi

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 153 posts

Posted 24 May 2014 - 11:25

+1

Very good idea, and one of the many proposed little tweaks that would speed up the _actual_ and _typical_ workflow.
  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#12 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 09 June 2014 - 23:16

+1

Very good idea, and one of the many proposed little tweaks that would speed up the _actual_ and _typical_ workflow.

Thanks :) aaaaaand the topic goes bumpy bumpy :yeah:
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#13 Chris Edberg

Chris Edberg

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 10 June 2014 - 03:32

Interesting idea, I voted "Hell yeah".

Perhaps if it's easy to develope I guess it could be scripted like a "Tool" ?
  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#14 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 17 June 2014 - 00:40

Interesting idea, I voted "Hell yeah".

Perhaps if it's easy to develope I guess it could be scripted like a "Tool" ?

Well I can code a thing or two, but I never dived into coding for Renoise.
I guess that is going to be the only option.

Thank you for the attention and the bump op the topic Chris :)

Edited by DJ TerraByte, 17 June 2014 - 00:40.

Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#15 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 26 June 2014 - 23:53

tsssss I'm almost searching around the keyjazz button and in the sample editor for options that are non-existent. After 13 years of Renoise... finally a toggle on keyjazz for sampleselection / whole sample? oh well... it must be late or something :o
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#16 Tamtam

Tamtam

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:DnB

Posted 27 June 2014 - 05:15

Does it mean, to macro move (or something) the selected part of a sample to only play the selection as you like ?
If i understand what you mean, then it sounds like a good idea.
  • DJ TerraByte likes this
I like cookies !

#17 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 06 July 2014 - 23:29

Does it mean, to macro move (or something) the selected part of a sample to only play the selection as you like ?
If i understand what you mean, then it sounds like a good idea.

Even simpeler explained: select a piece of sample, press CTRL+T to trim. you now play only the selection (which is great :) )
But then I have to undo my trim action to select another part.

I want this trimmingstuff without the actual trimming to happen. Just select and play.
It feels unnatural; select a part = play a part. not the whole thing again :P
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#18 crazya02

crazya02

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Game dev, Game playing, Music dev, Music playing

Posted 17 July 2014 - 19:29

Such a simple feature, and I've been wanting it for quite a while! Although I don't do live performances, it'd still be very useful to test how a sample would sound before you trim it/use the sample slice command.

(also, that glow effect needs to be implemented)
  • DJ TerraByte likes this

sig.gif

Processor: AMD A10-7850K Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G   3.70 GHz  RAM: 16.0 GB  OS: Windows 7 Professional


#19 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 18 July 2014 - 19:49

Such a simple feature, and I've been wanting it for quite a while! Although I don't do live performances, it'd still be very useful to test how a sample would sound before you trim it/use the sample slice command.

(also, that glow effect needs to be implemented)

hurray!!!!! another believer in the keyjazz on sampleselection :D
:yeah:
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#20 Sam

Sam

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 543 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway

Posted 21 July 2014 - 10:42

I want this too!
  • DJ TerraByte likes this
Wrong - Terawatt - S - Sam - S-Wrong

http://www.myspace.com/swrongmusic

#21 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 24 July 2014 - 22:05

I want this too!

Thanks Sam. Aaaaaand thanks for bumping the topic :D

Could you believe it? just select a piece and smack away at the keyboard. To produce delicious new sounds in any pitch in 1 mouseclick...
Oh the day it's in there I would jump holes in the air.

I think I would pay at least 200 euro's for it right now.
Haha if I could bribe on of the devs and need to pay in advance, no problem ;)
But that sounds rude :rolleyes:

[edit: ohhhh those tags again when using the preview editor....]

Edited by DJ TerraByte, 24 July 2014 - 22:06.

Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#22 speeeh

speeeh

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Posted 28 July 2014 - 09:42

Best suggestion :) Please make this happen!
  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#23 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 29 July 2014 - 00:22

Best suggestion :)/> Please make this happen!

Oehhh great! another fan of adding this little tweak to our Renoise lives :D
Thank you Speeeh for the support of the topic. :yeah:

It would make me relive the samples again, rediscover what I missed years ago, explore new sounds, make that dull sound to work as a synth, hear the difference it what sounded the same...
Yes, select a piece of sample, smack on the keyboard and start the smiles :D
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#24 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 21 August 2014 - 23:20

uh oh, i'm not gonna let this thread die.

SELECT, JAM, ENJOY, REPEAT

 

gogogo :D


  • piranhatron2000 likes this
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#25 Drop Shadow

Drop Shadow

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 434 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen

Posted 22 August 2014 - 07:37

+1


  • DJ TerraByte likes this