A question about panning

Say I throw two effects on a track, and I want the output of Effect A to be slightly panned to the left, and the output of Effect B to be slightly panned to the right. Is this possible, and if so, how do I do this?

Thanks.

I’m just a renoise newbie too, but it sounds as if you’re going about this slightly the wrong way.

What you want to have is the original track generating the sounds, then route it (probably using a hydra) to two other tracks which contain the respective effects and panning systems.

But I could be totally off base.

Hydra is for mapping a single control to multiple controls of other effects.

But you could make one send track for each effect(-chain), and send the original signal to to those tracks. The send device will allow you to keep/mute source, so even if you want to mute the original track you need to choose “keep” for all subsequent sends but the last. The send tracks could be panned individually, and are mixed together in the master. Having 2 effects on a single track, even if those supported panning, would also mean that the second effect would process not the original signal but the ouput the first effect. If you deliberately wanted to do this, you could also send to another send track from the first send track after the effect (with “keep source”), thus the second would effect the already effected signal, but both stages could be panned individually. I hope you get that explanation somehow…

Clutters up your tracklist a lot, if you overdo this… :blink:/>

Aha! Thanks for setting me straight.

I really like Renoise, but I will say that this is one aspect where Sunvox shows NightRadio’s genius. His interface creates a very close link between the mental model of routing sound signals, and the interface’s display and management. Not trying to start a flamewar, and not knocking Renoise - I could mention half a dozen things Renoise does better than Sunvox. They both have their niches.