Renoise Forums: How Can I Make Chiptune - Renoise Forums

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How Can I Make Chiptune

#1 User is offline   n00bified 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 01-June 06

Posted 01 June 2006 - 10:03 PM

to make chiptune I know that i need square and triangle wave forms and thats about it. can someone give me the lowdown? going for NES sound.
0

#2 User is offline   dblue 

  • Renoise Dev
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admins
  • Posts: 4787
  • Joined: 01-August 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 01 June 2006 - 10:31 PM

Well I can't really give you any tips for actually composing chip music but I think the Peach VSTi by TweakBench (free) will be perfect for you:

http://tweakbench.co...uments.php?id=9

It's a synth based on the waveforms from the NES :)


There's also Toad, which is based on the sound effects and percussive noises from the NES.

http://tweakbench.co...ments.php?id=10


.
1

#3 User is offline   BYTE-Smasher 

  • Composes without Wires burns Directly from Brain to DVD that is already in Store Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 3832
  • Joined: 25-May 06

Posted 02 June 2006 - 03:15 AM

you forgot the 3rd VST in that group: TriForce

http://tweakbench.co...ments.php?id=16

it's essentially a NES softsynth that uses real synthesis... while peach and toad are sample based
BYTE-Smasher is a lofi orgasm in high fidelity
BYTE-Smasher is jacks disheveled sense of groove
BYTE-Smasher is chaos turned structured, then back to chaos
This signature is now diamonds
Posted Image
I'm on a horse.
0

#4 User is offline   dblue 

  • Renoise Dev
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admins
  • Posts: 4787
  • Joined: 01-August 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 02 June 2006 - 07:34 AM

BYTE-Smasher, on Jun 2 2006, 02:15 AM, said:

you forgot the 3rd VST in that group: TriForce

Nice... Somehow I hadn't noticed that one on the list before.


There's also the excellent Chip32 which lets you draw your own custom lo-fi waveforms.


.
0

#5 User is offline   n00bified 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 01-June 06

Posted 03 June 2006 - 07:17 PM

wow thanks alot guys :)
0

#6 User is offline   d'automatique 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 31-May 06

Posted 05 June 2006 - 06:57 AM

those all look great... how do i use them? do i need to put the dll somewhere specific so that renoise can see it?



edit: i figured it out. these kick ass. thanks.
0

#7 User is offline   Rick Hoekman 

  • Big GrandDaddy Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 467
  • Joined: 10-March 03
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 June 2006 - 04:38 PM

What I used to do in the 'old' days was to pick a sample and went on looping a real small area that it was a sort of wave form that I was looking for.. And then crop it.. Or is that called cheating?
0

#8 User is offline   Marc Shake 

  • Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 1577
  • Joined: 27-March 06

Posted 05 June 2006 - 04:48 PM

Chiptunes with VSTi are lame :)

http://www.trancefis.../music/?media=3

(short samples only)

Edit: Linkfix

This post has been edited by Marc Shake: 12 October 2012 - 12:36 PM

0

#9 User is offline   Eraserhead 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: 23-December 05

Posted 05 June 2006 - 06:06 PM

Marc Shake, on Jun 5 2006, 04:48 PM, said:

Chiptunes with VSTi are lame :)

http://www.trancefis...sic.php?album=2 (short samples only)

nowadays, chiptunes are a matter of style instead of the technology
they're made with. Most of us don't work anymore on 64k-intros
or projekts dedicated to the smallest possible size. so it doesn't matter
if you're writing your songs with VSTis, samples or old gear like the
c64. it's all about fun (and the nostalgic feelings around the sound).
0

#10 User is offline   trepain 

  • Big Masta Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 530
  • Joined: 02-April 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Florida
  • Interests:Composing music & Photography

Posted 06 June 2006 - 04:15 PM

Eraserhead, on Jun 5 2006, 01:06 PM, said:

Marc Shake, on Jun 5 2006, 04:48 PM, said:

Chiptunes with VSTi are lame :)

http://www.trancefis...sic.php?album=2 (short samples only)

nowadays, chiptunes are a matter of style instead of the technology
they're made with. Most of us don't work anymore on 64k-intros
or projekts dedicated to the smallest possible size. so it doesn't matter
if you're writing your songs with VSTis, samples or old gear like the
c64. it's all about fun (and the nostalgic feelings around the sound).

I agree that the majority of the people, including myself, who are making chip style music are not composing and or outputting them directly from 8-bit gear.

I have come by dozens who are though which is truly fascinating. Here are a couple some of you might find interesting.

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fusea...riendid=2433407

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fusea...riendid=2766236

Also be sure to check out a great one in general - cannot believe this guy is 19. It's like progressive chip-music. Listen to them. Nothing short of brilliant.

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fusea...iendid=10444909
0

#11 User is offline   Marc Shake 

  • Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 1577
  • Joined: 27-March 06

Posted 07 June 2006 - 03:50 PM

Eraserhead, on Jun 5 2006, 05:06 PM, said:

Marc Shake, on Jun 5 2006, 04:48 PM, said:

Chiptunes with VSTi are lame :)

http://www.trancefis...sic.php?album=2 (short samples only)

nowadays, chiptunes are a matter of style instead of the technology
they're made with. Most of us don't work anymore on 64k-intros
or projekts dedicated to the smallest possible size. so it doesn't matter
if you're writing your songs with VSTis, samples or old gear like the
c64. it's all about fun (and the nostalgic feelings around the sound).

I usually try to make chiptunes as close to SID (c64) as possible. Usually I do not use more than 4 channels (3 Sids, 1 Galway-Sample) and I work with arpeggio and vibrato-fx

Though I really like the Sid-VST by ReFX...
0

#12 User is offline   weli 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: 27-October 05

Posted 07 June 2006 - 09:18 PM

btw. here's a few great SID-samples with loop points: http://freesound.iua.upf.edu/tagsViewSingl...gle.php?id=1055
0

#13 User is offline   Enemy Clown 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 18-June 06

Posted 18 June 2006 - 11:55 AM

Rick Hoekman, on Jun 5 2006, 03:38 PM, said:

What I used to do in the 'old' days was to pick a sample and went on looping a real small area that it was a sort of wave form that I was looking for.. And then crop it.. Or is that called cheating?

Technically yeah, but I think these days when one says "chiptune" what actually is meant is "sounding like a chiptune". Using samples instead of VST's has several advantages: you can use pitchslides and the 0xx effect (arpeggio? not sure, but it's what I associate with chip music more than anything else :P try it on sines and saws). "render to sample" is your friend here. As is orangator:

http://www.sonicspot.../orangator.html
http://www.sonicspot.com/visualorangator/v...lorangator.html
ff / fq
0

#14 User is offline   hmā 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: 22-July 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tukums

Posted 18 June 2006 - 03:34 PM

NESVST Pack
0

#15 User is offline   Chris_Knives 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 05-January 07

Posted 12 January 2007 - 04:39 PM

anything for macs?
0

#16 User is offline   ilkke 

  • Super Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: 24-May 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Psydney, Australia
  • Interests:pixels and tracking

Posted 06 June 2007 - 03:33 PM

Hi, I also love chiptunes.
I can recommend chip32 VST instrument. It actually lets you DRAW the waveform, and it has the basic SQUARE SIN and TRIANGLE presets. I can;t remember where to find it exactly, but the VST is made by a japanese nd is free. Try kvraudio.com search for it.
Posted Image
reNOSE - smell teh powar!
0

#17 User is offline   dblue 

  • Renoise Dev
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admins
  • Posts: 4787
  • Joined: 01-August 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 06 June 2007 - 04:38 PM

View Postilkke, on Jun 6 2007, 02:33 PM, said:

Try kvraudio.com search for it.


Or simply read a few posts up, where I have already mentioned it.
:P
0

#18 User is offline   Kameleontti 

  • Guruh Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 844
  • Joined: 26-July 04

Posted 08 June 2007 - 12:01 AM

http://www.milkytracker.net/?DOWNLOAD

check video tutorial section
0

#19 User is offline   cubedecibel 

  • Chief Above Chief Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 363
  • Joined: 21-March 05

Posted 11 June 2007 - 08:36 PM

Also try QuadraSID!

Kit list: Macbook Pro (Intel C2D 2.2Ghz, 4Gb ram + 500 gb 7200rpm disc + Asus 22" wide screen LCD)
Echo AudioFire 4, Yamaha HS-80M + Pioneer HDJ-1000, Novation Xiosynth25 + Novation KS4 +
Radikal technologies Spectralis +
Access Virus TI, Akai mpk25, Mackie 1202-VLZ, Zoom H2,
JJLabs BMC2, Numark DM3002EX, Bongos, tambourine, maracas, digeridoo, pan flute etc.

Sold most of my gear to buy an Hi-Fi system to the living room. :( Just my Virus TI left :)

____________________________
"An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind" - Mahatma Gandhi
0

#20 Guest_kaneel_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 12 June 2007 - 01:06 AM

http://www.kvraudio.com/get/1420.html YMvst for atari chip lovers :)

#21 User is offline   mlit 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: 04-June 07
  • Location:Norway
  • Interests:bada-pcshhh!

Posted 17 June 2007 - 11:40 PM

also check out PURE6581 vst and PURE64.
i'm not on my own computer at the moment. but i managed to surf them up on a german site. be warned, there's alot of popups on this site, but theres about 7-8 free VSTi's there :)

http://lday.ld.funpic.de/vsti2.htm

cheers :walkman:
0

#22 User is offline   Djeroek 

  • Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 5992
  • Joined: 10-November 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 18 June 2007 - 12:56 AM

THNX FOR TEH PURE64 RECOMMENDATION, SLIPPED THROUGH THE RADAR
0

#23 User is offline   hseiken 

  • Chief Above Chief Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 354
  • Joined: 30-August 04
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 June 2007 - 06:41 PM

Not to steal the thunder from renoise, but there is FamiTracker which is emulated NES 2a03 chip (is that it?) built on top of a tracker interface for windows. If you're using mac, you may be out of luck. It also supports MML instrument definitions so that you don't have to use pattern commands all the time for very intense sound manipulation (i.e. arpaggios...you can just build an arpaggio instrument...or a triangle kick drum instrument, etc.).

It also saves as .nsf, allows loading of samples (along with necessary conversion to the NES' pcm format) so that you can go all the way. If you're savvy enough, a completed tune can be hacked onto a cart so you can play it on a real system.

http://famitracker.shoodot.net/
0

#24 User is offline   mlit 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: 04-June 07
  • Location:Norway
  • Interests:bada-pcshhh!

Posted 25 June 2007 - 10:32 PM

SID chip is the shit !
0

#25 User is offline   OverCoat 

  • Super Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Normal Members
  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: 16-May 07
  • Location:Seattle
  • Interests:interesting

Posted 25 June 2007 - 10:59 PM

the SID chip gets its own tracker, too!

http://en.wikipedia....iki/GoatTracker

but the download link is dead right now :[
IPB Image
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic