A Few Questions

After many months, I feel I am finally getting to the point in Renoise where I am able to efficiently make the music I want to make. However, I have a few questions that I would hope to get answers to, so that I can take my renoise use to the next level. For these questions, I would prefer to have an answer that uses Renoise, but if necessary a third-party application recommendation (Mac) would also be appreciated. I am dedicated to my craft, but at times I am also inexperienced in my craft. I seek to improve so that I can make better music and teach others how to make the music they want. My background is software, so I might sometimes think strangely about creative process, I hope you understand. Thank you in advance for your engaging in a discussion with me.

1. I really like the idea of 09xx, and using the loop as an instrument. However, that loop still needs to be extracted from a larger song (in most cases.) What are you using to slice the loop out of the song?

2. When I press “z” it plays a C note. That is, it plays a C note when I use one of the built-in samples. What are you using to “tune” your samples so that “z” is C?

3. When I write software, we use “version control” so that we can go back to a previous version of the software. Does anyone use this with Renoise so that they can go back to an earlier version of a song or branch for remixes? Please tell me about your experiences and present me with advice.

4. I have used built-in samples to construct melodies. I am interested in now trying this with virtual instruments. Are there recommendations for soft-synths to start with? Free and pay suggestions are both welcome.

5. What are your Renoise “Best Practices”?

6. Besides using Renoise, how would you recommend I learn more about Renoise and making music? Tutorials, books, forums, blogs, all are welcome.

If you help me, I will report back with my experiences. Then together we will have made a document to help more people.

Thank you.