A Few Random Questions (particularly Volume)

hi all,

i’ve just started using renoise and there are just a few questions that i have, as i’ve never used a tracker before. I can’t find the answers in the tutes, apologies if they’re there…

1. volume tracks: by default, is the volume for each track set to max (i.e if i enter manual values, i can only make it quieter, right? the only way to increase the overall volume is to play with the master?). If so, it seems you could come to a point where you realise you want something to be louder but there’s no higher values you can enter, so you have to adjust EVERYTHING lower to give yourself more space… (sorry for bad explanation, hope it makes sense). So is it a good practice to start with things on pretty low volume settings, so there’s room for later when you want things louder?

2. I still can’t really understand “speed” vs “bpm” - the user guide is a bit unclear to me. It seems that the speed is like divisions WITHIN each row… does it actually matter what my speed setting is, and how can i work out the best setting for it?

3. I couldn’t find much on vocals within RN… is the best way to handle them just to cut up the vocals into samples and place them in a track? there’s no way to play from halfway through a sample is there… i read something about “freezing” for this, but it seemed too complex for now :P

thanks a lot for any responses :)

• stuart
  1. You answered your own question. Most people probably work backwards though (put in all the sounds first then figure out the volume stuff as you go along)

2. In Renoise, check the “Song Properties” config tab. Make adjustments and look at the “Real BPM” value in the upper left, you’ll figure it out: