A Few Things That Tripped Me Up As A Beginner

I read in another part of the forum that the dev team was interested in what it’s like to get into the app from a total noob standpoint. First I want to say that this program is very nice indeed. Stable and fast and looks good, which is important to me if I’m going to spend all day looking at it. It’s very seductive … I’m not sure why, since it goes against the entire way I’ve been making music for the last 20 years. But after using DP, Pro Tools and Logic, I’ve come to the conclusion that there are certain things that are just damn difficult to accomplish.

But here’s a couple of things that took hours and hours to figure out…

Entering data in track columns! There is no mention anywhere about how you actually enter numbers in the pattern Editor. (unless I missed it) I get the sense that most of the community grew up with trackers and so assume that any idiot would know how to do this but it needs to be spelled out clearly in the manual. Things like … why can’t I use the number pad to enter numbers? Why does the number 80 show up when I type 8? Why does the pattern editor automatically scroll to the next line, and how do I stop it, so I can enter more data on the same line without using the arrow keys? Granted, I’m a noob. But I’ve been studying this app seriously for the last 30 or 40 hours. It shouldn’t be that hard to find this kind of basic info IMO.