A Musical Project In Another European Country

Hey,

I’m gonna try to make it short but I’d also like to explain it clearly.

I’m studying sound engineering in France with some friends, and we want to leave the country for the next year and mount a musical project, renting a big house in which we’ll live, and which will also be our place to work.

Basically, the idea is :

• To make music : forming one or two bands (or playing solo) and playing live. That would also allow us to meet people who are involved in the city musical activity.

• To host some bands / artists for their repetitions.

• To record and mix some music (we’ll put all our personal equipment together, and that already makes a kind of nice set for starting). Of course we’ll record our music, but we also want to record some local bands whose music will suit our tastes.

The aim is to eventually turn into a label, proposing for the bands or artists a full follow up for their projects, from the firsts repetitions to the release.

We know this is a big and adventurous project but we’re talking about it since several months and we’re now beginning to make some meetings to talk about it more seriously. We still have to find out the better way to handle the project legally, and actually we still have to find out a lot of things, but the fact is we all have decided to do it (on January 2012 I think).

So, finally, here is my questions : do some of you have suggestions about the place we could go ? Right now we’re thinking about Leipzig, Germany, because we heard some cool stuff about this city, but we’re not actually set on that place and are looking for some other places to compare with.

The two main criteria, for the city / country are :

• The general cultural background of the place (the place has to be very active on that side, and the politic of the country has to be favourable and helpful towards culture in general)