Akai Mpd 16 Pad Vs. Renoise

Hi there

I wont too buy this pad ^^^, but im not sure yet, i want too known something first.

Is it possible with renoise, too asign different sample’s too different pad’s of ^ that machine? (really liked too known this)

and maybe swith keyboard shortcuts too the pad? like the record button and arrow down? (but that’s not really the ‘‘problem’’)
Sorry for this REAL crappy english, i hope one of you will understand it a little bit of what i am saying…

thx anyway

I’m no expert here but i think that pad can communicate with Renoise or any other host via MIDI (input and ouput) signals. It doesn’t matter how will you set the machine, it will have no influence on how Renoise recognizes it.

You have to make sure if that machine has MIDI ports, if so, you can feel safe to buy it.

I’m still a newbie though. Moderators are free to delete this post if the information is incoherent.

Peace! :)

BTW, wich styles are you into?

The pad will only understand MIDI signals i presume, so you would not be able to assign keyboard shortcuts to midi-commands.
You might be able to control VSTI’s and it’s alias instruments if you can send the signal to the vsti through the according channels.
Personally i would rather recommend a rotary device with turning knobs, you can assign those knobs to DSP / VST sliders in Renoise (and also volume and panning sliders) which might be more usefull than just such a pad.
In your first question i can only guide you keypad side of your keyboard where you can use the nine figures to play the nin instruments displayed in your list. (If the prehear is turned on, they will not only play, also the note will appear in the pattern editor when Record mode is on, usefull for making percussion lines)

Yes. There’s a program which will let you assign a different note to each pad.

No, unfortunately that’s not possible.

If you do get an MPD-16, I recommend gluing it to something solid, otherwise the pads aren’t responsive enough.