Beginner Question - Mainly Efx

well… ive been trying to figure out the demo of renoise (for mac) on my own, for a few days. i must say its a little overbearing, but totally has the depth i want. the only problem is i really dont understand the effect commands. now, im not a newbie to music. ive been creating music on the computer for years. mostly samples, cool edit pro, and playing my organ over beats ive created. if youre ever curious as to what bachrodi is… take a listen.

back to trackers…

like i said. im amazed by trackers. i never even really knew they existed, until about a few months ago. thats sad comming from somone who has been listening to dance their whole life.

so… effects. this is greek to me. i have some tracker manuals for FT2. but, they only show 3 digits for editing. renoise has 4? i understand how to input them (that took me 20 minutes), and some of them make sense. ive used the delay effect on the panning column to make the beat hold a few ticks. i liked that. but as far as volume slide, pitch slide, and MOST of the other ones… im lost. whats retrigger REALLY do? and play sample backwards never really works out for me.

im glad i have the default list… ive DLed the online manual (cause im OFFLINE at home). but it doest really explain HOW TO DO the effects, it just gives the commands…

thanks guys. i promise once i get this down, the songs will be worth it.

(now i understand how Boards of Canada made “telephasic workshop”)

Pattern effect commands have two broad functions:

1. Sample manipulation.
  2. VST parameter manipulation.

The first is built upon the herritage of trackers manipulating samples played in the vertical sequencer. The second is new (hence the four digits xxxx) so you can control slider positions of your channel effect plugs (eg. vol/pan or say the cutoff of a fiter2 plug), or use the code to switch the plug on/off during the song.

The bible is here: http://tutorials.renoise.com/?n=Renoise.EffectCommands