Computer dead, need new one

My computer’s hard disk just failed, and I need a new computer. I’ve backed up a lot of stuff that I need, but I’m still losing some stuff.

My point is, I need a new computer, and I want to make this one count. People keep telling me to build my own, but I’ve had no experience doing that and if something doesn’t work I won’t know how to fix it. It’s still my best option for getting my money’s worth out of the sytem.

I was thinking of getting a package build your own PC like this from newegg http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.1189055

But like I said, I really don’t know what the end result will be in terms of putting it together, and I still need an OS as well as other peripherals.

At any rate, I’d like to hear your guy’s input.

Merry Christmas btw.

To me it sounds like you only need a new harddrive, but if your computer is outdated anyway maybe it’s best to buy/build a new one.

How old is your computer? What is your budget? Maybe an upgrade is all you need?

You already have a cabinet and maybe your power supply is good enough too? If you skip any hungry graphics cards you will not use nearly as much power as if you have high end sli graphics cards.

What you really need is a decent mobo, a good stable PCU (not necesserily the one with the higest wattage), a powerful processor, a sound card that suits your needs and enough RAM.

I’m very outdated on the computer market, but i think something like this should be very good for your needs:http://shop.lenovo.com/us/en/desktops/lenovo/k-series/k450e/

I think i would have gone for windows 7 instead of win 8, but that is maybe just a matter of preference. Also it might be a good idea to buy an extra SSD to improve the performance even further, especially if you work with a lot of large files.