Convert MIDI CC to note data?

So I’m trying to accomplish what this guy is doing here. I want the touch strip on my keytar to be able to output a note value for C-3.

He is using the PIZ midi tools, but those don’t work in Renoise. I figure there HAS to be a way to do this. Would appreciate any kind of help. Willing to do whatever it takes to make this work in Renoise and not have to use another piece of software.

100% possible

https://forum.renoise.com/t/midi-note-to-cc-is-it-possible/43697

Man, a bit over my head, so cool though. I downloaded the control_voc.xrns and am trying to make sense of it. I’ve never used any of these metas before, they seem so powerful.

Thanks so much for pointing me in the right direction. It looks like that noteoff and ktrk machine both are controlling the warp form which is controlling the cc-out?

So if I’m looking at this right it’s doing the opposite of what I want, using note data and converting it to CC data. How would I swap it around the other way?

Sorry, I think this can’t be done with meta devices. The other round example works, because you can use the inst.midi device to generate cc data. It can’t generate note data. You could only try to volume-gate some instrument by the cc data your controller provides.

Maybe it’s possible with some lua tool ala duplex. Maybe you can hook into somewhere, and translate the cc into note data. And IDK about how realtime-coolness would be provided. I can look into the renoise api when I find time for it.

Well thats disheartening. Moved from Buzz to Renoise for stability, lost a lot of features. Do you think it would be possible to get the piz midiconverter3 working in Renoise?

I’ve looked a bit into it, and it seems the renoise lua api is capable of hooking into midi input & translating via lua code to something else. Would be a bit of work, I’m not so much informed yet on the whereabouts, and…yeah. Such tool needs a lot of crafting to be fool-proof.