Dj-ing

Ok… I am in need for some advice!

Due to a friend of me bragging about my music when he was drunk, I and another friend now got a DJ gig :) Kinda interesting because I have no experience in that whatsoever. :D It will be a synth club at a student pub (with probably not so many people)…

So after looking around a bit I thought about doing this with a laptop, mp3s and mixmeister pro 6 (probably a total noob, lame, etc etc program, but I only have 3 weeks to become great at this :) )

Music will be mostly EBM/synthpop. Danceable stuff.

So please overwhelm me with lots of great advice and tips! :) I know there’s lots of knowledge on this forum so you probably have some good input.

Thanx!

Personally I’d recommend Atomix VirtualDJ, as I use it myself! It’s really easy to use 'specially if you have some external sound card with surround possibilities, as you can have pre-hearing on headset as well as main output going. Very effective!

…this didn’t help, sorry! :D

Thanks for the tip! I’ll check it out.

For previewing I have 10 outputs on my sound card or, if that doesn’t work, also an internal crap card. So that shouldn’t be a problem.

I have tried that Mixmeister and used it last time I was DJing at Rollercup 2004… and it went all right.
Quite not bad I’d say. It even allows some pretty nasty trick ;)
And it does not requires ages to be understood.

I tried MixVibes, it’s pretty good once you learn the hotkeys etc.

But i think Ableton is even better, because the tempi always match and you can go crazy with fx (in sync) and have a nice midi controllability. The only bad thing is that it cannot read mp3’s and such, so you would need to prepare your songs and have a large HD though.

Loolarge

Ableton or Traktor are the go.

OR, if you really want to impress people and not give them the same old same old do two things: