Emu 1212m: What Microphone To Buy?

the EMU 1212m soundcard has two balanced 1/4" inputs and does not feature a microphone pre-amp such as the 1812m does (AudioDock-M).
if i am not mistaken, i am therefore not able to connect condenser microphones, because they need phantom power (48V).
so what’s left are dynamic mics, which are, as far as i was able to tell, usually more suitable for live-performances rather than studio recordings.
so my question for anybody with reasonable experience towards this matter:
is there a HUGE difference in quality from a good dynamic mic to a good condenser one?
if there really is, i will have to buy a mic preamp feat. the 48V power, but if threre is not, i can save a lot of money and go with something like this or even that.

opinions and recommendations are very welcome!

i’m not experienced nor have any deeper microphone knowledge, but i read that herbert groenemeyer (german artist) recorded a big part of his album “mensch” with a shure sm58, which happens to be a dynamic mic.
not that i like his music at all, but i think that’s a proof that “pro” recordings can be done with it. ;)

interesting info, ty.
although groenemeyer is the probably the last vocalist on this planet i’d like to take as some sort of reference. ;)
so what’s the hype about condenser mics? in how far do they sound different or better?

afaik (and i’m really no expert in this area) condenser mics are much more sensitive and can reproduce nuances in the voice much more accurate than dynamic ones.

basically: you can use headphones to record your voice. just plug them in the mic input of your soundcard and you’ll see. it’s because their membrane induces power into the coil, which electrically represent your voice. that’s the principle of dynamic mics. (the same principle of speakers, just the other way around)