Essential Features/fixes (if They Aren't Already)

Hi all,

As a long time user of OctaMED Soundstudio, I’m new to Renoise, and so far, I’m impressed with it. However, to tear me away from Soundstudio completely, I have a few suggestions. In fact, some of them might already exist, so please say if they do. Also, if anyone here agrees with these suggestions, again, please let us know!

1: Master song transpose
Not just where all the notes go up or down x semitones, but a “master song transpose” independent of the note data (similar to Soundstudio). This might seem unimportant, but it’s amazing how hearing the song in a different key can help the creative process. For me, this is a super important feature, and I may not use Renoise properly without it. Please support this simple feature, and put it in the “Song settings” in the form of a slider!

2: Not easy to change tune speed
Again, there should be a master speed setting in the “Song settings” panel, also in the form of a slider.

3: Undo - holding key down should rapidly undo multiple changes.
When I have entered a lot of incorrect notes, I want to be able to undo them quickly. If I hold down CTRL z, and keep it held down, why doesn’t it quickly cycle through, instead of doing a single undo??

4: Note stops in sound editor if you don’t keep it held down
Is there any way to keep the sound playing after you tap the key in the sound editor? It stops immediately, which is good in one way, but it would be nice to have the option (especially for testing out chords).

5: Ability to hide tracks with no notes in
Sometimes it can be a real pain showing tracks with no notes in them. They can easily waste space, and take up valuable time when you’re trying to move between tracks to edit notes.

6: Automatically assign instruments to particular tracks so they change automatically when you navigate the tracks