Extremely Loud Sound Coming From No Where!

Hi, I’m new to Renoise, and have been using it for a couple of months now, and I’m new to trackers in general.

Occasionally, while I’m using Renoise, the program will emit an extremely loud noise that’s obnoxious and extremely startling. This often happens not as a reaction to anything that I’ve done in the program, but seems to occur on its own. If it is a reaction to something I’ve done, it’s an extremely delayed reaction, to the point that there is no way I can pinpoint its origin.

It’s happened three times total. One of them happened to be while I was listening to one of the demo songs that comes with Renoise (which would have nothing to do with me manipulating the program–I pressed play to listen to the song, and the horrible noise came abruptly half way through the song).

After the second time, I just figured that I was going to have to expect this to happen with the program, and that the “panic” button was for this kind of thing. On the third time it happened, I hit the panic button. The sound stopped, only to start again a couple seconds later.

It seems like the only thing that stops the sound is to close the program completely. This seems pretty ridiculous. What’s the diagnosis? What can I do to fix or avoid this.

Sounds like you have an open mic attached to your audiocard and you are experiencing feedback…
Or you have an option on your soundcard to record its internal mix and there may be some faulty hardware component that does not exclude feedback. (like Bantai suggested)

yeah, feedback was the first thing I thought about as well. Check your soundcard mixer settings.

I do a lot of live recording outside of Renoise with various other recording programs, and I have never experienced a problem like this. So I don’t think it’s a buggy soundcard.