Happy New Renoiser

This was initially to be a response in the Venetian Snares - could he do it in Cubase? thread. But it’s a bit long. Short story : the only computer audio software I’ve used since my Amiga died in the mid nineties has been related to generative synthesis and mangling, or generative sequencing (where patterns can influence patterns can influence patterns). I recently tried to use more traditional DAWs and such for sequencing, and it wasn’t working out. Too plastic, too static, too much work to make something sound consistent yet throw in wild variation… And then I discovered Renoise and found a connection back to where I had started with MED, a DJ mixer, and a handful of tapes. Bliss.

Anyways, the long story:

I’m new to Renoise. I’ve come from a world of electro-acoustic / tape collage / generative music (such as it is). I started in the mid nineties doing multitracking by using a DJ mixer and swapping tapes : record a layer, take the tape out of the recorder and put it in the player, put the player’s tape in the recorder, hit play/record and add another layer. And that was a step up from the poorly spliced headphone ends I started with. Ah, but that was fun…

Anyways, I used MED / OctaMED back then on my Amiga 500. I’d often use it for drones, and loved how smoothly it could shift pitch in samples. And I think it had a loop editor so you could line up the start and ends for that smooth butter taste. I loved it. That Amiga’s life was cut short by a clumsy friend. That was… late 94? 95?

I quickly swore off using computers for music after that. Nothing (at least in my price range) at the time that I knew about could come close to doing what I could do with the Amiga and MED. At the end of 1999, I learned about SuperCollider 2 (a real time DSP/synth programming language, mac only at the time), and that was the first time I had that old feeling back.