How to fight aliasing?

• = no matter what the band-limiting is based on

Current status: There’s cubic and sinc (for rendering) interpolation, high audio rates are possible, without filtering and downsampling.

I’m no expert, I tried to find and describe a few ways how to get there. It would be great if you participate in searching what’s possible and what would be a good feature.

If you create just one sample of 336 samples length , and spread it across the keyboard it will alias as hell in the higher octaves .= normal
Remedy …Create multiple samples of different sample length , record your favorite vst plug (plugin grabber ) per step …
Forget about fft ,ifft …way to cpu hungry .
Take your time to sample instruments , or just use vst’s

For instance, Sytrus doesn’t feel cpu hungry to me but it’s a subjective matter.

Don’t know how to say, but I’ll try:

I think for capturing and modelling acousting sounds, the current sampling features are really good.

But for synthesizer sounds, … even with great multisamples, I’m not sure how good e.g. a glide can sound (more split zones = more jumps, less split zones = more aliasing).
Also, it takes pretty much space to capture something that’s evolving. On the other hand, the aliasing is imho too much to invest much time into building complex electronic sounds, because it’s a limitation that at least I find too problematic.

Renoises “sample based” Instruments now start looking like a synthesizer. I took this as a sign of the dev team, as if they wanted to make VST (and all their pitfalls in controlling them) unneccessary in the end. So, well, I’m curious if then generators inside this will be a separate solution (like a build-in modular synthesizer so to say) or a step by step approach on top of the current Renoise instruments.

I’ll try to get the sound right in cubic. If it sounds okay to me, i’ll just render it anyway. I’ll turn the aliassing to my advantage instead of muffling it away.