I Need A Good, Cheap Usb 2 Soundcard Solution For My Notebook

m-audio firewire solo.But its use firewire :). Or E-Mu 0404 USB.

emu 0404 usb is quite nice. Has some of the best a/d/a converters even compared to more expensive options. I like mine quite a bit.

Here’s a very professional review: http://ixbtlabs.com/articles2/proaudio/emu-0404-usb.html

edit: Though I should note, its not really mobile since its not hub powered and on the large side.

Novation nio 2|4 is reasonably priced, good build quality and excellent sound. Also works great for laptop DJing.

I’ve had some experience with M-audio and wouldn’t recommend their products unless money is really limited.

I have an M-Audio Firewire 410, and while the interface itself isn’t bad, I have to warn you that you should stay away from M-Audio products. The software drivers have given me hell, and will sometimes make my computer crash for no reason. It also stops working completely if it gets unplugged from your computer or unplugged from a power source and you have to restart your computer. Stay far, far away…

I also have the E-mu 0404USB. I very much like it, but there are some quibbles.

Some people have had problems where this is a mashing crunching white noise and you have to re-initialize the driver (which is pretty easy from within the renoise control panel). I think this has something to do with the motherboard of some laptops.

The other thing is when in ASIO mode, I can’t swap out and play anything else - it locks the device down. In other words, there is no “what you hear” recording source with the 0404USB. Maybe this is an ASIO thing though?

Anyways - I think the sound quality is great, it’s small and easy to use.

ESI Maya 44.

Not the best for vocals since it’s only rca connectors, but ok for some simple projects.

Don’t know if you’ve already heard about this (I just found out) but Echo have released ExpressCard versions of their Indigo sound cards:

http://www.echoaudio.com/