Just Bought Krk Rp6, But...

Hey!

The KRK RP6 speakers just came in the mail (finally) but cables did, not surprisingly, come with the package.
Meaning, of ocurse, that I have to buy them.
Only question is; what kind should I get?
:unsure:
They’ve got sockets for XLR

TRS

and RCA

The RCA on the speakers are unbalanced, while the TRS 1/4" and XLR outputs are balanced (whatever that means).

Sorry for newbie post, but I’m a complete newb when it comes to cables, so alittle help would be very appreciated.

Kinda embaressing buying speakers and not even knowing how to plug the bastards.

Also, I’ve got a external soundcard

Would the sound benefit from using this instead of the outputs on the PC?

…‘kay here goes: the XLR you don’t need unless you’re using a sub, but since you got the RP6, that’s not needed. Therefo’ you’re going to need balanced jacks. Do not get RCA cables. Hope this helps…

…not needed…

yeh they are powered monitors.

2 questions.

how come he shouldn’t use rca’s?
i’ve been using rca’s on an rp8.

balanced is another way of saying grounded right?

Unbalanced cables are also grounded.

Unbalanced cables has two wires (+) and (-). The (-) is also the ground and works as a shield wire which prevents noise from getting into the (+). Unbalanced cables works just fine if the needed cables are short.

Balanced cables has three wires (+),(-) and ground. The (-) is 180 degrees out of phase which (long story short) manages to cancel out noise that can leak in via other cables or radio frequencies etc. So if the cables run along many other cables or long distances, balanced cables should be used to make sure the signal stays free from noise.

About balanced I/O’s: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Balanced_audio_connector