Mastering Wtfs.

I have a ton of mastering questions. In the simplest way to ask.

What am I looking at?
What am I looking for?
Where does everything belong?
What tools do I use to bring things where they’re supposed to be?

The new spectrum analyzer will probably help a bunch with seeing if there is space between sounds.

How do I get rid of muddyness?

How do I get rid of pops and clicks?

I think that’s all the questions I have for now.

Thanks.

<----- I have a ton of mastering questions. In the simplest way to ask.

Hi mate, seems like a lot of your questions are actually mix questions. Mixing is creating the balance of audio in a track- volume levels, panning, compression, eq, as well as other effects like delay, reverb, etc. ( some of these things fall into sound design categories as well, but ignore that, for my reply here )

Mastering is the final stage of preparing a track, or a group of tracks, either for a cd, digital album, single, ep, etc, etc.

<----- What am I looking at?

when you are mixing, you are trying to create an imaginary book shelf, where each book ( audio ) is placed in its own spot, and you can, “see (hear),” each book clearly.

<----- What am I looking for?

to balance the audio, and make a great sounding mix…

<------- Where does everything belong?

totally varies, and depends on the track.

<----- What tools do I use to bring things where they’re supposed to be?

great mixes use volume, panning, compression, eq, and verb. simple in concept, but a dark art nontheless. delay, chorus, filters, automation, whatever; can all be part of a mix

<------ The new spectrum analyzer will probably help a bunch with seeing if there is space between sounds.

doubtful, and no… to be blunt.

<----- How do I get rid of muddyness?

try lowering the volume of your bass?

<------- How do I get rid of pops and clicks?