Mp3 Section Of Liniux Faq

Think the titles says it all really. A little note of how to get MP3 importing for Linux in the Linux FAQ section of the tutorials would be nice.

But for now can anybody remind me what to do (I know it’s mentioned on this site and searching would find it but as I’m making a request anyway…)

For me it’s less to do with creating music on Renoise but more because I’m yet to find a wave editor that is better than Renoise’s one on Linux (Sweep came closest so far) and sometimes I feel some of the MP3s I download could do with a little touching up before saving.

Renoise will tell you what to do (install libmpg123) when trying to load an MP3. That’s better than any FAQ?

Sorry I am pretty new to Linux and due to the fact that to get Renoise working I have to close any media players and my web browser before starting Jack, then Renoise I didn’t have another look yesterday. I knew it said the name of the library when I last tried to open on.

Quick question though. By Install does it just require adding to the /lib folder?

Would of thought also worthwhile for the FAQ though, as both PC and Mac use Quicktime right? Whereas Linux is different. Again minor point that a bit of time to search (when I’m not hungover and at work) will easily solve and sorry if I’m suggesting something you think is already well enough covered. Just thought it’s generally nice to have a FAQ as comprehensive as possible without being bloated.

Just install it, in ubuntu it’s:

sudo apt-get install libmpg123-0  

[Edit:] messed up quote tag

Cheers atte. I assumed, as all my media players obviously cope with mp3 no problems, there might be something specific to do for Renoise. That seems to have done it though so nice one.

If you mean the other software can play mp3 “by themselves” and “strange that renoise can’t handle mp3 with out this lib” the devs know better, but I assume it’s a matter of:

1. not having to reinvent mp3 related sufff →