Need Beginner Mixer/preamp Tips

Okay, Ive been using Renoise for 2 years now, and I’m starting to really feel the need to record my own samples, guitar tracks, and vocals from my friends that can sing. So if you wanna skip all the details, long story short - I [think what I] need is a mixer with phantom power, a low amount of channels and the best possible preamps available on such a device but within my budget (150-200$).

Of course, I may be entirely mislead by what I have read on the internet over the past couple of hours, so I’d like some experienced opinions and input from you guys :) So please let me know what my best options are. I trust your opinions as producers.

My Limitations and Requirements:
-A mixer that supports a condenser mic (Because apparently that my best choice for my first, multipurpose mic, tell me if thats wrong)
-A budget of 200 dollars (because I have to buy a mic also)
-At least two channels. (so I can record a guitar and/or vocals, and the room itself with two different mics when i get a second one.)
-Good preamps, because that’s apparently even more important than the mic’s quality.
-A mixer thats geared more towards recording, not live gigs.
-Obviously USB support (2.0 would be nice) is crucial to my setup.

Thanks in advance for your input. I will continue to do research, but don’t want to make an inexperienced and uneducated choice!

The new price (220 to 240 usd) might be just a shade to high but Im sure a bit of googling / craigslisting / ebaying will find one in your range.

Allen and Heath ZED-10

• 10 channels
  • 2 Class A FET high impedance inputs
  • USB audio

A friend of mine absolutely swears by it.

http://www.allen-heath.com/uk/products/pages/productdetails.aspx?CatId=ZEDSeries&ProductId=ZED10

Thats a nice machine, but it doesnt suit my needs… i need xlr inputs. not outputs. And I wouldnt know what to do with 10 channels lol.