Noob (a Couple Basic Questions And A Introduction)

I am new to the renoise forums, ello. I apologize if I ask the same question you’ve all heard a million times. I’ve been dj’ing and messing around with drum machines for years and as of late decided to give the whole software thing a try. I’m really into enduser, venetian snares, drumcorps, doormouse and a ton of different styles of music altogether…Although ultimately what I want to create isnt like them it uses the same foundation of beat making. complicated glitched out stuff. I have a fully registered version of renoise and ableton live 6 and have been trying to figure out the learning curve to both. I got the dblue vst plugin today and have been messing around with it, and while its very fun its not teaching me at all how to program necessarily. some basic questions…

1. ok, I’ve watched the tutorials songs and the beat slicing one is the one I am most interested in. Now I see that they’ve selected a drum loop that repeats 4 times. I know how to input a drum loop, then I manually change the bpm to get it to line up so that it repeats (is there a option that syncs this for you?) but then when the next patter comes in (sliced unchanged) there are a series of numbers i.e. 0900 etc that correlate to sections of that sample. then obviously it goes into the different variations and the beat gets all technical. This is my aim! (sorry for the long explanation)
    soo, the question is, how do I even input anything into that part of the column and assign pieces of the sample so that they do those effects? Is there a random generator you can use to get started on learning this and then go in to change it to see? (kinda like the vst plugin)
    All of these numbers and letters make no sense to me and reading that tutorial is like reading a trig book, maybe I’m just slow but I think I’m more of a “hands on” learner.