Osx, Vst's, & Slowly Learning

Hey forum,

I’m using 2.0, and I’m relatively new to trackers. I’ve dabbled with the demo of renoise a few years ago, but my friend bought me 2.0 and I’ve decided to really get into tracking. Electronic composition isn’t very new to me since I’ve used Cool Edit on Windows, with samples. But composing everything from scratch, and just learning music theory and structure in general is very different and very cool to me. Not to say it isn’t a difficult thing to learn though… Especially since I don’t know much about music theory or PROGRAMMING! So I do have a lot of questions, but I’ll try to get my main frustrations out first.

1. I am on a macbook! I’m a newbie when it comes to audio hardware. I used to have a PC with a Creative Live Drive (with audio in’s), so my first question is: How on earth could I even use any hardware with the laptop? Is the macbook a poor choice for composing music? I’m learning that the lack of a mouse, and the laptop keyboard are an issue already. Not like I have any money to buy anything new anyway…

2. Music theory. I’ve been into music my whole life. Especially electronic music, jazz, funk, soul, and world music. Another obstacle for me is that I know very little of how to actually compose music. It was easy to use samples in a multi-track editor like cool edit’s, but I’m having quite a time (a nice time) learning about the mechanics of composing. Is there any source for learning about different genres and styles, and what makes them that way musically? Like how/where could I learn about time signatures, rhythm, and the other technical aspects of music? I’d like to create some future jazz, or some latin rhythms… but I really don’t even know about time signatures, or how to structure songs like that.

3. VST’s. I’ve been using instrument samples so far, so I havn’t even dabbled with the VST’s. What are VST’s exactly? What pros/cons do they have over samples?